Don’t Blame Others – Judgment Seat of Christ

Genesis 3:12     Then the man said, “The woman you gave to be with me, she gave me of the of tree, and I ate.

Mankind has played the blame game since we were created.  Have you ever blamed your wife for something that you have done? I have. Does it ever turn out well when you do? Well, so far it never has with me.

Adam and Eve had the same problem. They would not take responsibility for what they had done. Adam told God, “She made me do it; she gave me of the tree”. Then to further not be responsible for his own actions, Adam tells God,” It’s your fault God; you gave me the woman to begin with. Then Eve adds in, again avoiding taking responsibility, “The serpent deceived me, and I ate”. First they blamed each other, then Adam blamed God, then Eve blamed the serpent. God wants us to be responsible for our actions. He wants us to “Own Up”. When Adam and Eve played the blame game, things did not work out so well. God judged their sin, and they had to face the consequences for their lies and deceit.

One of the faults we have as the human race is we simply do not like to take responsibilities for our actions (And I as much as any of you, if not more). We always want to blame others for our actions. We say I am not responsible, my parents caused this by the way they raised me, it was my friends’ fault, our Pastor failed, and my children are rebellious.  I don’t make enough money, my boss is cheap. My spouse does not understand me, or I do not have enough time….Excuses, Excuses, Excuses, on and on and on.  It seems that we always have an answer for everything.

We cannot get away with anything before God. Our Lord knows the truth about the circumstances in our lives. We can play things off to our friends and neighbors, but God will always hold us accountable. Forgiveness and restoration will never happen in our lives unless we take responsibility in full before God for our own actions.

Are you making excuses? That is an indication that you have not fully repented, when you make excuses. God does not want excuses, He wants the truth. Adam and Eve dealt in excuses and had to face the consequences, we need to deal in truth before our Lord.

There is nowhere in God’s word where God gives us permission to make excuses and excuse our sins, because of the actions of someone else. If we become habitual excusers of our sins, always blaming it on someone else, or some reason, we will never reach a point where we are truly repentant. We are to hold ourselves responsible, for our own action, and not blame others.

2 Corinthians 5:10

For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive what is due him for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad.

Sooner or later we’ll all have to face God, regardless of our conditions. We will appear before Christ and take what’s coming to us as a result of our actions, either good or bad. So try to always step up and be responsible for your own actions, no matter what they are. Be responsible for you own sins. Do not be like Adam and Eve, and be cast out of the garden. Own up, and be responsible before our Lord. This will allow you to receive the forgiveness of God and move on to a more fulfilling walk with Christ.

Categories: future, God, Heaven, Jesus, Repentance

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

9 replies

  1. Probably one of the best messages I have ever heard was preached by Leonard Ravenhill on the Judgment Seat of Christ. I felt like hiding under the table while I listened to him.

  2. wOW~!
    an incredible message . . . to us ALL!
    thank you, Darrell : )
    ~ Gracie ♥

  3. In agreement Darrell. To me it is all about people that does not want to take responsibility for their life or actions.
    It reminds me of a church sign that i saw at a church in Cape Town.

    Adam blamed Eve
    Eve blamed the snake
    The snake did not have a leg to stand on.

    Blessings to you and yours.

Trackbacks

  1. What A Finger-Pointing Attitude Can Do For You « Get up.
  2. Last Letter Before The Departure: Forgiveness « My Last Pen
  3. Pay Attention | ChristianBlessings
  4. He is Able! « On Planting Seeds…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,645 other followers

