God Will Calm Your Storm – Rest in the Power of His Grace – Bible Inspiration

Psalm 10729 God calm stormThere is not one among us at one time or another that has not felt hopeless, discouraged or defeated in life. It is at those times no matter how dark and gloomy things may seem that we must never underestimate the vast expanse and power of grace.

Hopelessness and failure are founded in our hearts and in not in our circumstances. We must learn to trust in the power of grace, because it is grace that causes hope to triumph. In our darkest despair it is the power of His grace alive in us that causes hope to rise, bringing light and life to our despair and failure.

In life there will be times when you feel as if you are standing on the edge of a cliff spanning a chasm as wide as the Grand Canyon, looking deep down into the gorge of despair, as your soul cries out for relief and rescue, but there seems to be no hope and no comfort. There are times that your mind seems frayed on the verge of sanity as the ponderosity of your burden seems to have broken every escape, and collapsed all hope. But I say to you fear not and be not dismayed as Christ is ever-present working on your behalf, supernaturally directing all circumstances and events, rescuing and delivering you from your all your desperation and doubt.

There are many avenues within secular society that promise to cure-all with self-help videos and self promotion books that tell you to be positive, lift yourself up and will your way to win. As we read and listen to these self-help gurus we will try to will our way to victory, coming up with plan after plan, method after method, hoping to survive and trying to improve our lives.  We think that if we develop a new workout schedule to better our bodies; upgrade the scenery in a newer neighborhood; buy a newer car, change relationships etc., that we can get ahead. But the reality is that in none of these things there is comfort or rescue. The truth is, as you are breathing in the desperation from your bone-dry desert of despair, choking on hopelessness of it all, while trying to find any way out that you will come to the realization that you must trust in Christ. He is your Anchor of Hope that has already secured your victory upon the cross.

If you are finding it difficult to make the right decisions in your life, you are relying on your own limited vision and insight. Put all your doubt, fear, indecision, hopelessness, anxiety and pain before the powerful Throne of Grace and let Jesus guide you in your decisions. He will guide you by His Spirit to make the right decisions, removing all that is weighing you down in your parched wilderness of self-doubt. He will overcome for you just as He overcame the world by the power of His grace poured out upon all humanity at Calvary.

Psalm 107:29 He calms the storm to a whisper; the waves of the sea are hushed.

Categories: Bible, Bible Verses and Scriptures, Christ, Christianity, Comfort, God, God's Love, Grace, Hope, Jesus, Troubles

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

44 replies

  1. Excellent Darrell, great word of encouragement. Thank you bro.
    God bless
    Greg

  2. Awesome, thank you for the encouragement.
    Psalm 107:29 is simply beautiful.

    Thank you

  3. Thanks for this timely word, Darrell. The storms so quickly make us forget that ‘His grace is sufficient’ for any need. Blessings.

  4. “…The truth is, as you are breathing in the desperation from your bone-dry desert of despair, choking on hopelessness of it all, while trying to find any way out that you will come to the realization that you must trust in Christ…”

    Great use of words describing our hopelessness without Jesus. Thanks.

  5. Thanks for the encouraging message brother Darrell. I have been suffering from severe insomnia and anxiety since middle June but feeling much better now due to prayers and encouragement from friends and family. Your message is very encouraging and by God’s grace, helping me see beyond the uncertainty.

    • Thank you Woo for stopping by and sharing – I will remember you in my prayers -Blessings Darrell

      • Thanks for your prayers Brother Darrell – I am now being healed of my insomnia and anxiety since last Thursday 11 Jul. From mid Jun until around 11Jul, I could only sleep about 2 hrs a day with high levels of anxiety day and night. Now I am able to sleep 6 hours a day with less serious disruption and no anxiety attacks. I think its due to worrying about getting a job as i am now jobless + underachieved/made poor decisions for the last 10 years. Your blog is an inspiration as I have found many applicable Words of God that spoke to me in my current situation.

      • Praise God Woo \o/ I pray that God will bring blessings and restore your life to you to achieve His will for you – In Christ

  6. Your words Darrell bring memories of God’s faithfulness in the times of trouble that I have suffered in my life, some of which I caused myself, some that others caused, some because we live in a fallen world that Satan controls and also because life happens but in all the hardship, as you shared I can see God’s Love and compassion and in His faithfulness to keep me strong to the end.

    Even when I fell into sin, I knew I did not deserve His Mercy and Compassion, I had hurt Him and so grieved and angered Him but even in His anger, He is merciful… He is Love and can do no evil, yes He disciplined me, and let me have my own way and so I reaped what I sowed at that time but when I came to my senses and repented, He forgave and comforted me, giving me His healing Balm full of His Love and when I asked He filled me with an abundance of His Spiritual food. God is always with us in the Storms of Life. ( Isaiah 43:1-3 )

    Psalm 103:2-8 Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits: Who forgiveth all thine iniquities; who healeth all thy diseases; Who redeemeth thy life from destruction; who crowneth thee with Lovingkindness and tender mercies; Who satisfieth thy mouth with good things; so that thy youth is renewed like the eagle’s. The Lord executeth righteousness and judgment for all that are oppressed. He made known His ways unto Moses, His acts unto the Children of Israel. The Lord is merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and plenteous in Mercy.

    As I read your message last night Darrell, I also remembered a Power Point that I created ( see link below ) which I shared on my Blog for Bob and Wendy, at the time Wendy was dying but God saved her life, many Bloggers were praying for her, Wendy’s fight for life shows God’s Awesome Love, Mercy and Power, He is the Bridge across troubled waters.

    Blog Post – http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/02/26/our-bridge-in-the-storm-for-bob-and-wendy/

    This morning I woke up with Scripture on my mind, (see below ) this often happens when my heart has been touched by The Truth of God’s words, I had read your message just before going to bed -Thank you Darrell for your willingness to share your Godly heart thoughts.

    Isaiah 40:29 He giveth power to the faint; and to them that have no might He increaseth strength. Even the youths shall faint and be weary, and the young men shall utterly fall: But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

    Today is the first day of the rest of my earthly Life, I will rejoice and be glad in it because God has touched me again with His never ending Love.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    • Thank you Anne – As always your comments are full of wisdom, life and grace. The good thing about God is He is compassionate toward us even though we do not deserve it. Thanks for sharing the link – In Christ darrell

  7. Darrell, truly everyone should recognize that HE is GOD

    Psalm 107:29 He calms the storm to a whisper; the waves of the sea are hushed.

    On our own we cannot control the storm nor the waves

    An important truth worth reminding those I am in contact with
    And they are at ChristianBlessings. Agree?
    Thank you Darrell for sharing.

    Evelyn

  8. Lovely message thank you brother. Blessings to you and Gracie.

  9. Thanks to StephenWhoElse who sent me here after today’s post. He was right, this is good!

    This describes how I felt at the beginning of my healing process: “breathing in the desperation from your bone-dry desert of despair, choking on hopelessness of it all, while trying to find any way out…” I tried psychiatrists, psychologists, self-help, you name it. I’ve probably read at least 500 books on the topic of inner healing.

    I finally came “to the realization that you must trust in Christ…” But, because I didn’t trust God at all (I believed He was just like my fathers), letting go took many years.

    Through his infinite patience, He finally won me over and began the long, slow, painful process of healing. I’m happy to say that nearly all of that is behind me now. Once in a while a “splinter” shows up. Because I trust Him, He and I can work on them without third-party assistance.

    I feel sad for people who are only able to achieve “some relief” from their past. Jesus never does things half-way. I don’t find a single example in Scripture of Him doing so.

    Jesus healed my broken heart
    Set this captive free
    He made this lame woman walk again
    And caused my blind eyes to see.

    Oh yes, He’s able!

    \o/

  10. I loved this Darrell, very encouraging!

  11. It’s such a comfort to know that we can let Jesus guide us in our decisions. Once we hand it over to Him, a weight is lifted from us. Praise The Lord! Thank You, Jesus!!

  12. Amen to that! Far to often we rely or worldly things for our comfort and cure. When in reality we should put our trust in Him!

  13. I appreciate your unmasking the thin promises of the self-help movement as I do your background.

    You might see your post in here:

    https://aholisticjourney.wordpress.com/2013/05/15/faith-and-suffering/

    Blessings, dear brother.
    Diana

  14. This is so uplifting and hope inspiring. I am blessed!

  15. He calms the storm to a whisper; — SO good!! My soul needed to “see that”. Thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. God Will Calm Your Storm – Rest in the Power of His Grace – Bible Inspiration | ChristianBlessings
  2. God Will Calm Your Storm – Rest in the Power of His Grace – Bible Inspiration | Jaymie's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,777 other followers

