We all need to be forgiven….

I need forgiveness..Please..

And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors…Matthew 6:12

Forgiveness is one of the most powerful acts in the universe. Few things are more precious. There are people, friends and family we interact with everyday, in which we need to give and receive forgiveness. We in our own sin carry a heavy weight, it is so wonderful to be set free, to know that the One who we did completely wrong, has completely in His love and mercy forgiven us from our sin.

Jesus when speaking to his disciples asked them to pray for forgiveness from God every time they prayed. Is this something we are missing in our daily activities? Our Lord knew that we as human beings would on a daily basis, incur debts against God, and we would fall short of what our Lord intended for our lives. There is not a single day that goes by, that we should not stop and take the time to ask God to remove our debt that we have committed against Him.

Jesus taught us, that while we forgive those who have done us wrong, we in turn should expect forgiveness from God who will forgive us in the same way and manner that we forgive others.

Matthew 6:15 (New King James Version)

But if you do not forgive men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.

The very nature of God is based on forgiveness.

Exodus 34:6-7 

 And the LORD passed before him and proclaimed, “The LORD, the LORD God, merciful and gracious, longsuffering, and abounding in goodness and truth, keeping mercy for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin.

If we are to be Disciples of Christ and servants of God, we MUST follow His example. If God was able to send his Son Jesus to die for our sins, in order that we might be forgiven, and if He was able to teach us to forgive even our most ruthless adversaries, including family, friends, husbands, wives, children and  even our ENEMIES. If our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ were able to forgive those who even took His life, how can we do anything less?

There are no rules on who or what we can forgive…Jesus did not say we could forgive some and forget others…..There is no biblical excuse to allow us to NOT forgive someone who has done us wrong. If you are holding anger, resentment and you are not able to honestly forgive someone, I mean 100% in totally, your heart,  I am sorry to tell you, but according to God’s Word, your are WRONG!

If you choose to not forgive those in your circle of life, your prayers to God, your worship to God become worthless and futile. You better think about that!

Matthew 5:23-24 Therefore if you bring your gift to the altar, and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your gift there before the altar, and go your way. First be reconciled to your brother, and then come and offer your gift.

It’s OK, we are all human and we will all in one sort or another withhold forgiveness. It is our human nature.  But you can pray to God and ask Him to make you aware of those closed off dark corners of your life, where you are holding anger, unforgiveness, and resentfulness against someone in your life, and you can both give and receive forgiveness. POW.  Right now the Holy Spirit has revealed that area of your life to you. If you can allow the Spirit of God, to see your own need for forgiveness, and to forgive the offenses of others against you and put them in proper prospective under our Lord, you can have a breakthrough in your life.

If we can understand our own need to receive forgiveness, and the Godly principle of forgiving those who have done us wrong, we can ask God to make us like Christ, so that even if we were to find ourselves in the darkest of hours of existance, even as Jesus was unjustly wronged, and if we were being nailed to a cross, and if we were innocent as Jesus was even in death, we could cry out “Father forgive them”. WOW…What a prayer…Even in death He prayed forgiveness. The ultimate example…There is nothing that anyone has done to you that can top that.  Take Christ’s example, do yourself a favor, and forgive, and be forgiven.

Categories: Forgiveness

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. Amazing how God works…..there is never coincidence with Him…..I know this is an area that many are needing to truly step up in, to allow His blessings to flow in their life, including my own….I just posted yesterday on my FB page a statement regarding this same topic:

    “I’m not perfect, I have my flaws, I am Christian, but I struggle too, to love when I’ve been deeply hurt, to forgive when I’ve been offended, but I thank God for His Love & Mercy, forgiving me when I have sinned…and so I too must love & forgive others, and can then expect my prayers to be answered, in Jesus name, Hallelujah!! (Mark11:24-26)

    This scripture says: “I tell you, you can pray for anything, and if you believe that you’ve received it, it will be yours. But when you are praying, first forgive anyone you are holding a grudge against, so that your Father in heaven will forgive your sins, too. But if you refuse to forgive, your Father in heaven will not forgive your sins.” (NIV)

    There is confirmation & conviction of God’s message to me from your blog today. How AWESOME is HE to be so persistent and loving, to continue directing us in the ways we should go! I LOVE my FATHER, and He Knows I Sincerely Love All, but He knows my struggles through the occasional real pain inflicted upon me, whether intentional or not. I have a Big Heart, sensitive to much, but I do thank God for that, to help me Feel and Connect as I desire to, and ultimately to Forgive as He would….Thank you Jesus and God bless you Darrell for another Great Word!

    • Some may say…Forgive, but don’t ever forget for experience sake! Wrong! Jesus is our healer, not time. Although remembering the issues become lighter as we surrender them to Jesus. you may not ever forget completely. But there can be a resolve. After a while, you just become free from what had you bound emotionally. I had no other choice as a Christian but to be obedient to Gods word and forgive, and let it go. When we let that issue that has us angry or bound go and give it to Jesus, He begins to work of your Spirit and you become free form all those bottled up emotions. oh, I was angry for a short while. And when I started releasing things, I may not have meant it fully yet, but I did make an effort to do right by God. Jesus just took it to a higher level day by day as I kept saying to the enemy when he stood as my accuser, I cut him off by saying it’s in the hands of God. it’s over! I’m an over comer and now I’m moving on and not looking back. We never want to laugh when the LORDS’ justice is repaid. However, one must realize that what goes around; comes around. As long as we forgive, and try to let it go… and keep our hands clean; God will take care of the issues His way. And He just could use another sinner to bring about justice.

  2. Pardon the miss-spellings and grammar. i’m not a bad speller, I just can’t spell? He hee… it’s late…

  3. LOL, see there, I’m soooo tired…. I even messed up the puch line.
    It’s…. I’m not a bad speller, my fingers just can’t spell? He hee

  4. i undertsand we have to forgive one another, but i need to know after you have forgiven, how are you to relate with that person? do you trust such a person and be free with them? thank you

Leave a Reply

