But God, “I” see a BIG problem here…

Seeing a problem for what it really is depends on the viewpoint from that you are looking at it from. There are two viewpoints in this life. There is the point of view that you and I have in our natural senses, as we look at circumstance through our own natural minds, our own understanding, and with our own thought process. The second viewpoint is God’s viewpoint. This point of view is looking at our problems, our troubles, and tribulations through the eyes our Lord, and through the promises in His Word. The Word of God indicates that our human viewpoint is always in conflict with the divine viewpoint.

For instance take the Biblical story of David and Goliath. David, but a very young man, took food to his brothers at the front of the line in the battle with the Philistines. When David arrived, he was confronted by those that were present in the camp of Israel with the human point of view assessing the situation. Everyone was in awe talking about the great strength and size of Goliath. They talked how heavy his amour was, how much his shield weighed, and the weight of his spear. The Israelites watch every day as Goliath openly and without any fear challenge Israel’s soldiers. They were very much afraid of him, so much that no man would accept his challenge. They were looking at the situation strictly from the human viewpoint.

When David arrived he heard Goliath spouting off at the mouth, boasting and carrying on, and he began to ask the soldiers around him, “Why does this guy keep mouthing off? Why hasn’t anyone stood up to this guy? Who is this uncircumcised Philistine that he should defy the armies of the living God?” In all the time that Goliath had been standing torment the army of Israel, which was about six weeks; this was the first time that the situation had been looked at from the viewpoint of God. There had been no discussion of the power of the God of Israel, or the miracles that He could perform. There had been not been any discussion about the promises of God. The army of Israel was terrified of Goliath.  There had not been one man, until David spoke up and saw things as they actually were, who had looked at the situation from the divine viewpoint. The divine viewpoint was, “Goliath is not actually challenging, boasting and wanting to fight Israel, he is challenging the power of the living God.

The men that standing around David still did not get it so they said, OK little shepherd boy, whatever go talk to the Saul about it, or in other words…get lost. Saul enquired of David, “You really think you can beat Goliath, he will tear you apart. David responded, “You better believe I can, not a problem.” Saul wasn’t seeing things from the divine viewpoint as David was, so in his human assessment of the situation he asked David to explain why in the world did he think he could defeat the might warrior Goliath. He told David you are not even a soldier and you have no formal military training. David then told Saul, “Well, I have ripped apart a lion and tore apart a bear with only my hands as a weapon. I saw things from God’s viewpoint and realized that they were coming against Him, and not me. My protection was not of myself but of God. It will be no different with Goliath; the end result will be the same. I will not be going against Goliath, God will. The battle will be the Lord’s!” So Saul said go ahead, and God be with you, you’re going to need it. Saul offered David weapons and armor but he declined saying he did not need them. On the way out to face Goliath, David pulled out his slingshot and picked up five smooth stones from the brook. .

So, David went out to meet the challenge of Goliath. Goliath was bragging to David spouting off in the name of his gods, and David came against him in the name of God, saying”I come against you in the name of the Lord Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied.” Knowing that this was God’s battle and not his David stated even further,” Today God has handed you over to me. I’m about to kill you, cut off your head, and serve up your body to the crows and coyotes. The whole earth will know that there’s a mighty God in Israel, and God doesn’t need a sword or spear. The battle belongs to God”.

These words enraged Goliath so much, that he took off toward David in a “dead run” (pun).Then David took off running toward Goliath. David stopped, reached into his pocket and grabbed a stone, slung it, and hit Goliath hard in the forehead, embedding the stone deeply. Goliath swayed from the blow crashing face-down in the dirt. David then grabbed Goliaths sword, and cut off his head. David saw the situation from God’s viewpoint and was victorious.

When we are facing giants in our own lives, our attitude should be the same as David’s. When we are beset by problems, troubles, and trials, we need to see things from the “God viewpoint”. The battle is not ours, it belongs to the Lord.

I want to go back for a second and look at David’s life pre-Goliath, David was a shepherd, that’s what he did to make a living. David told Saul, in my job, “I’ve been working as a shepherd, tending sheep, just doing my job. Whenever a lion or bear came and took a lamb from the flock, I’d go after it, knock it down, and rescue the lamb. If it turned on me, I’d grab it by the throat, wring its neck, and kill it. Lion or bear, it made no difference—I killed it. It is God, who delivers me from the teeth of the lion and the claws of the bear. Even at his day job, David saw things from the “God viewpoint”, so when the giant was in front of him, he was already accustomed seeing the battles in his daily life, not from the human viewpoint, but from God’s. He realized even in his day-to-day life, even working on the job, the battle belonged to God.

We become so accustomed to seeing life from our own natural viewpoint. As we go through life and face adversity so long, we begin to look at things from our own viewpoint and not God’s. We begin to think, “How am I going to get through this? Where the world is the money going to come from? How will I ever overcome this sickness?””How will my marriage ever stay together”? That is man’s thinking, not God’s.  When we are stuck seeing things from the human viewpoint, we need to be reminded of the words of David “The battle is not mine; it’s the Lord’s.” See it, believe it, submit to it, and He will act upon it.

If we look at our problems from God’s perspective, it is like leaving earth on the space shuttle. As the shuttle begins to leave earth’s orbit, the things beneath on earth seem to become small, in fact too small to even see. They are still there, you just can’t see them. This is how God looks at our problems. The earth seems huge until you see it while orbiting in the space shuttle. Then the earth does not seem so big anymore. God created the heavens and the earth, all the universes, stars and galaxies, He can easily handle our problems, and will as we learn to allow Him, trust Him and to become accustomed to seeing life, as David did, from the “God viewpoint’.

Categories: FAITH, God, Power of Prayer, Renewed Strength, Supernatural

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. Good illustration… I hear that one but with the hand close in your face and held out to look smaller.

    My trust is in YOU LORD God…. I shall delight myself in you and watch all the promises of God come to pass. PS 37

  2. I can relate. Multiple life changing situations have been happening in my family this new year. There have been big descisions made and more need to be made. No staying on the same page here … I find the life of David encouraging. Our Lord is a present help and he shows me everyday in some way. I might not understand or agree with what is happening, but I find comfort in knowing, that it’s not about flesh and blood. There really is a bigger picture. I’m not all that, but He is and it’s not my battle, it’s His.

  3. I understand the story of David, but how do I believe it and apply it to my life and my problems? I just don’t know how. Like questions, where is the money coming from, I mean it can’t just appear out of nowhere? Please help me to understand.

    God Bless and Thank you!

  4. So your theory is that David was divinely inspired to kill Goliath in what can only be interpreted as a cowardly fashion – single combat in that era not generally involving missile weapons – and this infamous act somehow describes something important about the nature of modern existence.

    Interesting take.

    One might be inspired to wonder why god would go to the trouble of creating the various other nations that he the commands the Israelis to massacre in various genocidal wars.

    But hey, that wouldn’t be taking god’s view.

  5. Wonderful. Yes…I have some “formidable” opponents. And I thank you for your reminder that I can stand up against them and say: “_(problem), you’re not just causing stress in my life, you’re coming against a child of God and His promises…that makes it against God Himself!” AMEN.

    Darrell, I appreciate you adding the everyday “conditioning” that we choose as well and, in how that effects our perspective. If we condition ourselves to view God’s viewpoint on things….it is easier. I think that may touch on Lisa’s questions on application. David always “got busy” when action was required…never sat on his hands and did the necessary “leg work” and so should we (applications, interviews, ideas for add’l monies, checking around). With the perspective of fear (“what if?, why?” questions – I know them all too well) my leg work is not focused or as effective. When its God’s viewpoint…my leg work ties into His (God’s) strategy for battle. One reason why David, as you pointed out, chose the slingshot (never had to even get his hands dirty!) over the armor.

    Yet, I am reminded…that if I want to know what God’s viewpoint is for this everyday conditioning, beyond, and in specific circumstances…I Have to Find Out what That IS. I have to read His Word (angels are convenient messengers but they don’t usually appear to me), listen to a message about it, get His take; to know His viewpoint. David just knew that those were enemies trying to afflict God’s people and God wouldn’t stand for that. It was obvious what the viewpoint was (at least to him…because of the “conditioning” in the everyday; to please God’s desires). When I know God’s viewpoint (Word or other means He chooses to share it)…It’s muuuch easier to simply PUT MY AGREEMENT WITH HIS DESIRE. Kind of like, “Ok, God..that’s what You want? What you don’t want? I agree!! I wont stand for it either!.. So, ‘(problem) you’re standing in God’s path now!'”

    Thank you so much for this reminder. Powerful. Sometimes we get tired and things get murkier…the enemy attacks….and then Truth breaks through. To God be Glory and you be richly blessed. Keep it coming brother.

Leave a Reply

