Jesus Wasn’t a Wimp!

There are no recorded descriptions of what of what Jesus actually looked like. Not even one. Not one picture, or painting or sketch of our Lord that have you seen comes from an interpretation of a physical description of Him in the Bible. To many times in my humble opinion our Lord is depicted as this weak wimpy looking guy. Pictures that depict Him like that infuriate me.

I grew up with a picture of Jesus in my mind from the pictures of Him hanging on the wall at my grandmothers, and from the pictures of him at the church, and I had a different picture in my mind of who Jesus was and is as I was growing up. As we are human we tend to associate things we know to be true with what we visually have seen with our own eyes.  And we have all grown up looking at pictures of Jesus, looking malnourished, effeminate and yes I will say it, yes wimpy. I do not claim to know all the men throughout history that have painted the image of Christ. But I can tell you one thing, the image of Christ in my eyes looks nothing like what I have ever seen them put on canvas.

The sad part is, a lot of the only Jesus that people know is what they see from these paintings and statues, and I do not believe at all that is what he resembled or what he will look like when we see Him. If the secular world thinks this wimpy character we see in a lot of paintings, is who is returning they better think again. You take these wimpy images that have been painted through the centuries, add all the new world mumbo-jumbo, and new way theology and you end up with people so confused they think that  they are saved by putting a WWJD (what would Jesus do) bumper sticker on their car.

Speaking of What Would Jesus Do, let me remind you or the straight forward words of our Lord when addressing sensitive issues, he did not beat around the bush, or try not to hurt their feelings, He told it like it was. Examples…

  1. Jesus confronted people with their sin… Jesus reminds a woman about her adulterous affairs

There have been a few times when I simply had to confront someone about the sin in their life, only to have someone say to me, you should be more like Jesus.  How was Jesus? In the Bible we read about the Samaritan woman whom Jesus met at the well, he tells her that she is an adulterer, right off the bat. (Matthew 5:32).  Wow!  Can you imagine just meeting a person and right away they tell you that you are an adulterer? That’s direct confrontation.

2.  Jesus confronted false religious people, using harsh words. It was not uncommon for Jesus to speak harsh words to those whom He felt needed to hear them…Matthew 12

This is war, and there is no neutral ground. If you’re not on my side, you’re the enemy; O generation of vipers, how can you, being evil, speak good things, for How do you suppose what you say is worth anything when you are so foul-minded?  Every one of these careless words is going to come back to haunt you. There will be a time of Reckoning. Words can be your salvation. Words can also be your damnation.”

The Church committees wouldn’t have liked Jesus’ outbursts of contempt and speech very much would they, as he was not, “politically correct”.  You can’t go around calling people “vipers” (deadly snakes), or can you?

          3.Jesus made no if, ands, or buts about it, people will one day burn in Hell. People like to think about the “I am love” Jesus, but no one wants to think about the “You’re going to burn in hell” Jesus.  Well, here He is…“Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.” -Matthew 25:41

 A man that confronts groups of people on the streets calling them snakes and vipers and telling they are going to Hell, a lot of the time more than not is going to get attacked and beat up. But there is not one instance in the Word where anyone attacked Jesus as He ministered. Take the Temple and the money changers for instance….

In John 2 we read that as Passover Feast was about to take place, Jesus found the Temple teeming with people selling cattle and sheep and doves. The loan sharks were also there in full strength. Jesus put together a whip out of strips of leather and chased them out of the Temple, stampeding the sheep and cattle, upending the tables of the loan sharks, spilling coins left and right. He said, “Get your things out of here! Stop turning my Father’s house into a shopping mall. There were many of them and only one of him, why didn’t they try to gang up on Him? No one got in His face or said anything? Why, because He definitely wasn’t a wimp. Could you imagine that scene in 2010? Jesus have been arrested and charged with created a public disturbance, assault with a deadly weapon, trespassing, vandalism of public (private) property, etc.  Maybe he would have been arrested then too, but the Spirit of God was on and in Him.

John 18:3 So Judas, having procured a band of soldiers and some officers from the chief priests and the Pharisees, went there with lanterns and torches and weapons

Judas had seen all things that Jesus performed and more as he walked with Him. Is it any wonder that when he betrayed our Lord and took soldiers with him to the garden, that he procured a band (approximately 600) of soldiers to go with him, and they had all their battle gear and weapons. You would think they were going to war. Judas knew Jesus was one tough customer, and as such was afraid of Him.

Jesus was physically strong having spent His life working as a carpenter in a day when they cut down their own trees and before the invention of the drill and circular saw. Can you imagine the sheer human strength it took to endure the physical beating and torment before and upon the cross?

Our ancient pagan Germanic ancestors identified with Christ as a victorious warrior king who endured the torture of the cross and overcame death. Maybe the pagan Germans had a better spin on Jesus. He is a warrior king. Although He was captured by His enemies, tortured and executed, He defeated them in His resurrection.

John saw him as returning conqueror in Revelation 19:11-16

 I saw heaven standing open and there before me was a white horse, whose rider is called Faithful and True. With justice he judges and makes war. His eyes are like blazing fire, and on his head are many crowns. He has a name written on him that no one knows but he himself. He is dressed in a robe dipped in blood, and his name is the Word of God. The armies of heaven were following him, riding on white horses and dressed in fine linen, white and clean. Out of his mouth comes a sharp sword with which to strike down the nations. “He will rule them with an iron scepter.”He treads the winepress of the fury of the wrath of God Almighty. On his robe and on his thigh he has this name written: King of Kings and Lord of Lords.

He is a combination of many names; Healer of my soul, Comforter, Prince of Peace, Love and many more. He is all things to all men, and has many names but wimp is not one of them. And he will return to conquer as John saw in Revelation. In Revelation John saw the might of our Lord as He will rule with an iron scepter. On the death on the cross John saw his love and compassion as He died for the world’s sins, and knew it as he wrote in John 1:29 “Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world”! In His death for our sins, our Lord much more resembles a big oak tree than a shrinking violet. Jesus Christ, was not a wimp, “He was tougher than nails”.

Categories: Bible, Jesus, Love, Ministry, Restoration, Salvation

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 replies

  1. This is awesome! Just how one is allowed to describe Jesus is up to the LORD. Maybe he reveals Himself in a way we can tolerate or understand in image. This is how I saw Him once in vision.

    If I may interject about an open vision I had of Jesus on one occasion; I saw Him sitting at the end of a long table dressed in a white robe with a purple sash across His shoulder. He had long slightly wavy hair. He turned and looked at me; then all the sudden I could feel my self go into Him through His eyes. I remember saying… Why He’s so lowly! It felt so wonderful and perfect inside. So over whelming sense of peace. Then it was time for me to leave. As I felt myself leaving , I remember saying; He is so beautiful! I don’t want to leave here. Then I was back sitting in the chair and woke up. Usually, when Jesus brings you to a table in a dream or vision, it’s to teach you something. I did a study of Lowly, and figured the LORD was trying to teach me meekness.

    Folks, it’s awesome! We ain’t seen or heard nothing yet that we will.

    1 Corinthians 2:9 But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him.
    10 But God hath revealed [them] unto us by his Spirit: for the Spirit searcheth all things, yea, the deep things of God.(KJV)

    I have always visualized Jesus as a very muscular man being that he was a carpenter.

  2. Another time, I went to a Benny Hinn Good Friday meeting in Miami about 5 years ago. I trusted God that I would have a supernatural experience while I was there. I left there not feeling disappointed when nothing happened to me out of the ordinary. I just figured it wasn’t God’s timing yet for a special touch. Everyone was tired, cause it was late and they were resting any way they could on the crowded bus. I was dozing myself when all the sudden, I couldn’t feel my legs. They began to feel numb and on fire all over; then I went into a trance like state. I saw a man standing half way in a shadow. His face was covered, but I could see that he had long hair. He carried my eyes down to his knee area. All the sudden I saw a smoke like fog in multi colors. The kind found out side the universe that was recently found in the last 5 years. It was swirling all around intertwine in patterns. And from that I learn, the glory comes at the price of your knees in His presence. Meaning having a prayer life and a relationship with Him daily.

  3. He was common looking, able to pass through a crowd, of no remarkable appearance as Isaiah tells us. Don’t forget he was Middle Eastern, so he would not have been six feet tall with blonde hair and blue eyes, he would at best be olive or darker skinned, have short black hair with long sideburns for the corners of his hair and beard would not have been cut, but unless there was a Nazarite vow the hair would have been neatly trimmed. But that being said, I think you have it right, it is not what He physically looked like, but Who He Was that mattered the most. And our relationship with Him is the most important.
    Heather

  4. It’s a difficult thing to discern when to be gentle & humble, and when to be tough… especially in the case of dealing with alcoholics or others who don’t necessarily “play fair.” It is not wrong for Christians to stand up for ourselves, but it is wrong to be proud & judge others. It is right to speak truth & not be a doormat, but wrong to be harsh about it. YIKES!! When you speak truth and someone perceives it as an offense, it’s very hard to avoid going into defense / offense mode. Aaaaahhh!! Holy Spirit, help, please!!

  5. okay love everything that i have read so far …However WHERE does it say that Jesus was a carpenter?, and NOT the Son of the carpenter..<back then "carpenter" implied many trades not just "wood working" thank -you

  6. You’re all going to burn in hell with me, because of your ignorance and belief in imaginary fairytales. ~Satin

  7. Actually Heather, in both times visualizing Him, he had more of a brown hair then black. In one, I would say a chestnut brown. :}

    Peg, I believe that is what’s called dying to one’s own fleshly will. I believe one that yells is only trying to be heard out of desperation; when others are not listening to truth. One only learns not to yell when they can surrender their will fully to the LORD. Then God him self executes truth and judgment into the earth.

  8. In remembering my first vision experiences with the LORD Jesus, I saw in vision one night what appeared to be Jesus in a robe, with a sash and rope belt. I couldn’t see his face, I just knew it was Him. He held out both his arms and said to me some words that has never left me. There were the scripture: Matthew 28:20 … lo, I am with you alway, [even] unto the end of the world. Amen.(KJV)

    What a promise! And He has been! Thank you Jesus!

  9. Boy,oh boy,even OLD NED,had to put his two cents worth in. THINKS HES SLICK AS SATIN,SATAN,THE OLD DEVIL WILL NEVER LEARN.

  10. I love myself The son of man.He give himself for me,and you.It is very heartfelt when i hear his name.How great to know that he is always there for me.As tears roll down my face,he comfort me,and let me know it’s going to be allright.JESUS is the answer.love him

Leave a Reply

