Thankful….Because….

1 Thessalonians 5:18

Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

I read a posting by one of my FB friends Mark Sedacca, and his words, many of which are found in this piece, brought this verse to my attention. Mark used the line; Giving thanks to whom, from all Blessings flow. We have more to be thankful for than we are aware of.

Many times as we are faced with difficulties with our marriage, family and jobs, it is hard in the flesh to have a feeling of thankfulness. Many times in life we get discouraged and cannot see or feel thankfulness. But be of good cheer, we have a loving God that is working on our behalf and there are things in our lives that we sometimes take for granted that deserve our thanks. Things such as;

  • To those of us that are married, let all be thankful for all the football games/chick flicks we have to endure, because that means the Lord has blessed us with someone to share our lives with.
  • Be thankful for having taxes taken out of your paycheck because it means that you have a job.
  • Be thankful for having the mess to clean after a party, because it means that we have been surrounded by friends.
  • Be thankful for having clothes that fit a little too snug, because it means you have enough to eat.
  • Be thankful for different political views than yours, and for those who complain about the government, because it means that we have freedom of speech.
  • Be thankful when you have to park at the far end of the parking lot because it means that you are healthy enough to walk and God has blessed you with a mode of transportation.
  • Be thankful when you have a large heating bill, because it means that you are warm.
  • Be thankful when you hear someone sing off-key in church, because it means that you can hear, and that they have a voice to sing with joy to the Lord.
  • Be thankful for birthdays, because it means another year you have been alive.
  • Be thankful when you have to wash a load of laundry because it means you have clothes to wear.
  • Be thankful when you are weary or tired the end of the day, because it means you are capable of working hard.
  • Be thankful for anniversaries, because it means another year you are sharing love in your life.
  • Be thankful when for the alarm that goes off in the early morning hours, because it means that you are alive.
  • Be thankful when that person you know is always bugging you for help, because that means you have friends to share your life with.
  • Be thankful when you have to change a diaper or go to a Parent/Teacher meeting, because it means God has blessed your life with the gift of a child.
  • Be thankful when you are asked to give in a special offering for a cause, because it means the Body of Christ is helping those in need.
  • Be thankful when it comes time to pay your rent or mortgage, because it means you have a roof over your head to live in.
  • Most of all we need to be thankful for a merciful God, who became flesh and dwelt among us, and in love, offered Himself up as a living sacrifice for our sins that we might be saved and inherit eternal life.

We need to thank our Lord for the very air we breath, for Him being our Daily Bread, for being the Savior of our soul, and for being the Lamb of God that takes away the sins of the world. He is the Lord our God, from who all blessings flow.

God works in all things for the good of those who love him (Romans 8:28). We need to be able to thank God in every circumstance, good or bad. He is in control and He watches over us as we endure both good and bad times. But always His end result is to bless us. We believe in God, and a risen Saviour, we can and should thank him for all that happens to us.
Be thankful for the difficult times. During those times you grow. Be thankful for your limitations, because they give you opportunities for improvement. Be thankful for each new challenge, because it will build your strength and character.

Because of what we have in Christ, we as believers have a reason to rejoice even in the face of many tests and trials we face in life. Having a joyful spirit is not always easy.  We need to trust our focus and faith in the Lord—His person, plan, principles, promises, and purposes to us as set forth in Scripture. This doesn’t mean life won’t hurt, but even in the midst of our pain, we can rejoice because we know that God is at work and in control on our behalf. We have a lot to be thankful for indeed. So if the only prayer you can say is thank you, it will be enough.

Categories: Body of Christ, Forgiveness, Friends, future, Grace, Jesus, Joy, Love, Marriage, Thankful

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 replies

  1. …I have no words…I am humbled in silence…

  2. I love this websight, there is so much information.
    Thank you for designing it

  3. Awesome! I once remember writing a Thanksgiving list that I was thankful for. I listed things like…

    I am thankful for feet to put into my shoes.
    I am thankful for hair to comb.
    I am thankful for teeth to chew.

    On and on… Gratitude responds with attitude. I learn to count my blessings long ago. Every once in a while, I seem to slip up and complain; other times I sit in awe of His grace and favor on my life.

    Colossians 2:6 So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him,
    7 rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.(NIV)

    Thank you Pastor for reminding me to be Thankful in all my circunstances. I’m thankful to be alive.

  4. Couldn’t have read this at a better time! But then God’s timing is always right. I really have to work hard to make myself ‘remember and recognize’ just how many things I really have to be thankful for, especially in the face of so much conflict and unresolved, ‘refusal to address’ crucial issues in my home; no acknowledging of God in our lives, on and on and on. Not a good or nice place to live. But, refocusing on all my true blessings, and I do have many, helps my survival in this life! Thanks for sharing……..

  5. When I first start reading this and it said be Thankful, I have so much to be thankful for…..

    1. Thankful for my life- If wasn’t for God I wouldn’t have learn from my mistake
    2. Thankful for my job – I prayed and God put me were I am today
    3. Family – I thank God for my family it’s so much love there
    4. I thank God for waking me up giving me another day.

    I can on and on about how wonderful God has been to me and I thankful for all of my trails because you learn how to move on from them. The best thing for me getting to know GOd is how he lets you see beyond a picture it’s a wonderful journey and I love it!

  6. Darrell,

    This is brilliant. It puts reminder tags on my favorite verse Philippians 4: 4-9 (or as I send to people online who need perspective: http://tinyurl.com/HelpOntheWay).

    Keep up the God Work!

    Tom Schulte
    Atlanta, GA
    tomschulte@recalibratenow.com

  7. What an awesome reminder!

Leave a Reply

