How Long Has Momma Been In Hell?

Having just passed the half century mark in my life, there are very few comments that I have not heard. There are still some things on occasion that at times surprise me, but as the years pass they become fewer and fewer as I witness life and the world around me. Sometimes with all the news channels and all the access that we have to media and information via TV, radio, print and internet, we think we have heard it all. I have heard a lot and it really takes something to surprise me.

This week, while at lunch I was having a conversation with a married Christian couple when I heard a comment that was expressed by the wife in a way that I had never heard a comment before. We were having a conversation. We were talking about faith, God and family. I had told them about my history, my ministry, my faith, and about my father’s ministry. I then asked them about their lives. I turned and asked the wife, “So were you brought up in the church”? “Oh, no” she replied, “as a matter of fact”… She then stopped right in the middle of her sentence, turned and said to her husband, “how long has momma been in hell”? “Almost 15 years now”, he replied.

Wow, that was a new one on me. I have heard “it’s been 15 years since momma died,” I have heard “momma passed away 15 years ago”, and I have heard “we lost momma 15 years ago”. But until just yesterday I had never heard the phrase, “how long has momma been in hell”.

They explained to me that they had accepted Christ into their lives shortly after marriage. They told me that they had stopped all the things they were doing at the time such as partying and such and became focused on living a Christian life. It became their life passion to go to church and follow God. They began volunteering for things within the church, spending all their free time, or as much as they could in activities in their Christian community.

Their parents lived back east and they had moved here to Colorado to go to college and had stayed here after graduation as they loved to ski and enjoyed the mountains. She explained to me that they had become so involved and immersed in the drastic change that had engulfed their lives with salvation that they had not been back home and had not taken the time to share the Gospel with their parents, none of whom were saved at the time.

It had been about 3 or 4 months months since they had become Christians, when late one evening around 11pm almost 15 years ago when she had received the call. The caller at the other end of the line informed her that her mother had suddenly and without warning suffered a major stroke and died. As she was telling me now, almost 15 years later,  tears stilled welled up in her eyes, when I received the phone call I turned to my husband and said, “Momma just went to hell”. It was at that time she realized that she would never get the chance to share her salvation experience with her mother, or tell her about Jesus, it was too late.

They explained to me that they had been so caught up in being new Christians that all their focus had been on what Christ was doing in their own lives. It had not crossed their minds to witness to their parents at the time, as they were waiting until they took their vacations and returned home to share their faith. But that day never came until the day they returned home for the  funeral they attended for her mother. They were so strongly affected by this event that it became their passion to see all their family members saved. Her father received Christ at his wife’s funeral, as his heart-broken daughter sat with him, crying, mourning, and praying with him for Christ to come into His life. He himself would die within a year of his wife’s passing of a heart attack, as many widowers do shortly after they lose their spouse. But His last year was filled with the joy and love that only Christ brings.

Both of the parents of the  man I was sitting with had also accepted Christ shortly after the funeral, as the evident impact of the witness of the blood of Christ had on their son and daughter in law’s lives. The couple expressed to me that they have made it their goal in life to make sure that everyone in their circle of life, which includes friends, workers and family have heard the message of the saving grace of the Lord Jesus Christ. She explained to me that almost always when she witnesses about the Lord she will open the conversation with, “I want to tell you about Jesus. My momma went to hell, because I never told her about Jesus”.

After I left the couple, I continued on with my day following our conversation, but her question, “how long has momma been in hell”, kept bouncing around in my head like a pinball. I began to think to myself if I took all the relationships in my life, all my friends, in-laws, my family, cousins, aunts, uncles etc., and if I were to place their lives in the past tense, I would be able to say that about a lot of people I personally know, as many of them have not accepted Christ as their personal Savior.

I don’t know why, but it seems that many times it is the hardest to share Christ with our closest family members, and old friends. As a result we back off, put it off, hope someone else will witness to them, or forget about it completely. The question, “how long has momma been in hell” has me rethinking about all the relationships and acquaintances that I have in my life, where I need to revisit and share again with my unsaved family and friends about Jesus.

Please, take the time yourself, as I did today and make a list of all those near and dear to you in your life that do not know Jesus as their Savior. Make plans to share Christ with them. If you already have and they were not interested, do it again, and then again. Do it in love and believe that the Spirit of God will convict the hearts of those that you love so they may receive forgiveness of their sins, and Christ might be glorified in their lives. If your parents are not saved take time to share the Gospel with them so that one day, you will never be able to turn to your spouse and ask, “How Long Has Momma Been In Hell”?

Categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 replies

  1. Those words “how long has momma been in hell?” sure shake a person up. I agree, it is our responsibility to witness to those we love and offer them the opportunity to save themselves by coming to know Christ. It is such a waste when we don’t use our lives to glorify God.

  2. be blessed in all u do ……..xo

  3. WOW!!!!!

    Thank you for the new way of thinking.

  4. I wonder at times when a family member say they are saved and show signs that they are not walking in the ways of the LORD. This is just as worrisome as one not knowing the LORD to me. I confirmed my dying sisters salvation repeatedly till she died. I won’t truly know if she made it to heaven for sure till I see her again. She died form abusing Rx’s and had a stroke. She use to tell me about her conversations with God. She was raised Pentecostal but strayed. So, did she die in her sin? Or was she so far gone mentally that she won’t be held accountable? God had already extended her life in years from aids given to her by another. One can even feel bad if they try to win a person and they refuse. Take that man who insulted the Holy Ghost in my presence and died. He would not even allow me to witness to him. Not all will allow you to lead them to the trough to drink. It is quit worrisome because I care! We can’t save the whole world…. but we can save a piece of it….one soul at a time.

  5. As soon as I read your piece here, you were the first that came to mind to share Jesus with. So many are deceived by man’s hearts. Please take the moment and read this post, maybe you also will come to know Jesus and His lovingkindness that endures forever. Go back and speak to those folks and relieve their hearts of their from unbelief, Jesus is the savior of the whole world.

    Is Hell real ?

    This is a doctrine that has been debated by many. To really receive and believe what the Truth is concerning this and many other doctrines, we must know the nature of Him that has established the laws that all things are governed by, this is salvation. Only one that is diligent in life of seeking Christ/Truth will prevail, to be assured of the Truth, ALWAYS keeping our minds open to the Word of God, not fixated in the teachings of man. With that being said let’s look into the Word.

    The nature of God is love, and is beyond the understanding of man without very much study and revelation from His Holy Spirit. Trying to sum this up would be to begin at the beginning contemplating on the stated outcome of creation, as He will show line upon line to those desiring Truth. In finding the Truth we must first believe that God is sovereign, there is NOT one thing that can circumvent God, no power beside Him unless He has appointed it, ALL things being created of His will and through His Word, to work His purpose. With all the teachings in the world, keep in mind ALL things are serving His will, to bring about His finished purpose.

    In “Isa 46” God tells us He spoke the end from the beginning and will also make it come to past, so let’s go to the beginning and we will know the end, the outcome of His purpose. In “Gen 1” where God speaks from the beginning, we can see that in verse 31 He tells us that He saw everything that He had made, this is the end, when all things are completed, and He said it is VERY GOOD. Now that we know this and knowing that He sees the things that are not, as though they were, this is speaking to the things that are not yet manifested, the things that we can’t see. So now we see that He is once again telling us to believe Him, have faith, that EVERYTHING THAT HE HAS MADE WILL BE VERY GOOD WHEN IT IS MANIFESTED. Is God love, if hell is truth, then this love that He is, is a love I don’t know, He said very good, what is even a little good about man’s doctrine of hell, that man declares to be the end of GOD’S GOOD works.

    There are many verses in the Holy Scriptures that MUST be understood in order for the Truth to be received, there are many that we can not begin to receive without knowing who God is and how He has assembled His Word to us, revealing His process. John 17:3 tells us to know God and Jesus Christ is life. Then when God tells us in “1Tim 2” that it is His will all men come to the knowledge of the Truth, we should know, beyond faith He has it all worked out, even to the point that in “1 Tim 4” He tells us He is the savior of ALL men, especially of those that believe. SO, if you believe there must be reward “especially”, this does not mean only believers are saved. You see, salvation for all was always part of God’s plan, even from the time in the beginning when He said, let us make man in our image, not just those that will believe. What He is telling us: have faith ! I will save ALL men, everything I have created will be very good when all things have being manifested. The Lamb was slain from the foundation of the world, the beginning, and when He was manifested, then we knew it was Him that loved us from the beginning, while we were yet sinners, He knew it, but He also knew He would prevail, He is able to be the savior of the WHOLE world, it is finished, the sacrifice is complete, you can’t change that, there is no power beside God and this is why He is able to speak the end from the beginning.

    Becoming aware and understanding the process will bring you to see that the Truth is hidden for God’s purpose, to separate the believers (especially) from all others, those that believe on me will continue in My Word, and yee shall know the Truth and the Truth shall set you free, free indeed, are a few of the principals He declares. This is speaking to those that are given to put the Truth before doctrine, specially them that believe.

    Most do not believe that the Truth is hidden in the Word, simply because they will not accept it, the scriptures that reveal, they deny, but there are many that are clear to show this Truth. Pro 25:2, 2 Cor 3:6, Joh 6:63, 1 Cor 2, Mat 11:25, Mat 13:34, Mar 4:11, Mar 4:33. These are but a few of the scriptures that are spoken that show the Truth is hidden until God reveals it to who HE WILLS.

    Getting on to scriptures of hell, hell being a word that is really a fits all word derived by translators with doctrinal understanding to support hell, this is why we seek to know God first, to know His nature so we can understand His desire toward men. When we see something in scripture that does not fit with His nature, we seek further Truth by studying out each word in the original writings to receive the intent of the words. Hell has been translated to represent three words in the New Test scriptures according to Strong’s concordance. The first being Sheol or Hades, understood in the Old Test as the abode of the dead, as even the patriarchs spoke of there resting place, where Solomon tells us there is no understanding or awareness of anything which aligns with Christ’s Words, he sleepeth. The next is Gehenna, the valley of the son of Hinnom or the place of burning of refuse outside of Jerusalem during the time that Christ visited man. And the third being the word Tartaroo, which occurs once in the scriptures as a place of confinement for angels, of which we will speak more on later.

    Looking at the doctrine that is derived from these words and there usage can not be confined to the New Testament only, but the Old Testament must also be considered that we come to the Truth. Hell having anything to do with the physically dead can not be since the dead, who know not anything, according to Solomon, are asleep and will not be judged until the resurrection and white throne judgment. As far as eternal torture occurring in Gehenna, this also can not be since Jeremiah in chaps. 7 and 19, tells us that Gehenna is the place of judgment for the children of God that have NOT kept His Word and taught things that NEVER even entered His heart to do to men. Also, we can look at Rev 20:14 in the KJV and see that hell is cast into the lake of fire, and while religion tells us that the lake of fire is hell, hell can not be cast into itself, the Truth is that hell or Hades in Rev 20:14 is speaking of the grave or dead and the word death is speaking of the ability to die that are cast in to the lake of fire, this is what is spoken the last thing to be put under His feet is death. Why is all this then put under His feet, because the feet are the lowest members in the body, the servants of the body, of Christ and they, the feet are the witnesses speaking ONLY TRUTH to all of creation as given to bring all others into Truth. This is the plan, a simple plan the servants are those that believe and will witness to all others the Truth. Why then is this great reformation of all of mankind called the Lake of fire, because it is the finial judgment of God, and His Word will be heard as a fire burning deep into the soul of man, the second death. The soul that sins must die.

    Mat 23:10 Neither be ye called masters: for one is your master, even the Christ. 11 But he that is greatest among you shall be your servant.

    Isa 33:13 Hear, ye that are far off, what I have done; and, ye that are near, acknowledge my might. 14 The sinners in Zion are afraid; trembling hath seized the godless ones: Who among us can dwell with the devouring fire? who among us can dwell with everlasting burnings? 15 He that walketh righteously, and speaketh uprightly; he that despiseth the gain of oppressions, that shaketh his hands from taking a bribe, that stoppeth his ears from hearing of blood, and shutteth his eyes from looking upon evil: 16 he shall dwell on high; his place of defence shall be the munitions of rocks; his bread shall be given him; his waters shall be sure.

    Jer 5:14 Wherefore thus saith Jehovah, the God of hosts, Because ye speak this word, behold, I will make my words in thy mouth fire, and this people wood, and it shall devour them.

  6. You hit the nail on the head with this one, Darrell.

    I used to live a very ‘cool’ life with ‘cool’ toys, ‘cool’ friends and ‘cool’ things to do. But I knew that it wouldn’t be so ‘cool’ for me on the other side. I praise God for giving me the chance to repent and seek salvation. However, I am now being ‘harassed’ by the feeling of ‘it’s not enough’ and I have come to realise why.

    I still have my ‘cool’ friends, leading their ‘cool’ lives. I thought that it would be better for me to be ‘open-minded’ and accept them for who they are and what they do… just love them and pray for them. But did I open my mouth? Not a peep. Because I was afraid of being seen as a God-lover and as a judgmental person. And I still wanted to be accepted by my friends.

    But I cannot live with my conscience if I don’t gently talk to them. Share with them. Some laugh at me, in an affectionate way. ‘She’s trying to save us,’ they chortle. Well, at least I’m trying. It’s hard sometimes, especially with those who live ‘alternative lifestyles’. But, you know what, most of them understand why… no-one has tossed me out the door yet.

    And that blog thing works, Darrell 😀 Sharing 24/7.

Leave a Reply

