God issued I.D.

When I open my wallet, I can pull out my Drivers License and that identifies me to anyone in authority as to my true identity. And if they need further proof, I can pull out my passport to verify and validate the information on my license.These documents are issued by those in authority here in the United States to let those who need to know my identity. That’s in the flesh that is, because there is more than one of me. There is Darrell Creswell, made of flesh and blood. And there is my spiritual man, who also has a name, but I do not know it yet, but I know it is recorded in the Lambs book of Life, and on the palms of Jesus’ Hands (see Why the Scars remain on Jesus’ hands https://darrellcreswell.wordpress.com/2010/05/27/why-the-scars-remain-on-jesus%e2%80%99-hands/).
You will grow stronger as you understand and realize your identity in Christ. The only image of yourself that you need to see in your life is that from God. The truth according to His Word is that you are who God says you are.Your ID is now in Christ and you have the power of the His Spirit living in you. You are God’s child and He created you to be identified with Him, and in that He is pleased. Our “identity issue” is an important part of living the abundant life. We are who are in Christ are able to face the demands of this life because of our identity in Christ. We knew exactly who we are; we knew that we mattered immensely to our Heavenly Father, and we can move confidently and purposefully forward in faith in our new identity in Christ.
Be who you are in this new identity in His blood. You can find assurance knowing that being yourself is what the Lord desires of you. A painter brings glory to God by being a painter. But, if the painter tried to paint  in the ocean he would find it utterly useless, and it would not work. You’ll find less stress, and comfort when you stop trying to be somebody you’re not and instead start being who God purposefully designed you to be.
Believe that God calls you personally by name – God didn’t call you as part of a mass invitation; He called you, individually, and His calling to you is specifically by your name. You are His joy, His creation, the work of His hands.
I may not know my new name, or have a God issued I.D. in my possession to show you, but I do know I have a new identity, and so do you. My dad was a missionary and a pastor and we moved a lot when I was growing up. Between 1-12 grades I attended 14 different schools. It was a difficult thing to do and I remember always trying to invent an identity for myself to fit into whatever situation I was in at the time, as it was always changing. But in Christ my new identity is assured and it will always stay the same.Here is the good thing for you to know. You have been given an identity that will never ever change. It will always fit in and this identity it is connected to God Himself by the blood of His Son, instantly making you a member of His immediate family. When the family of God sits down to eat at the banquet of the Lamb, your seat is reserved. How is this you ask? What have I been given and received as a child of God; Who am I in Christ? Well let me tell you, exactly who you are…..It is pretty amazing…

  • You are a child of God…Romans 8:16 tells us that God’s Spirit touches our spirits and confirms who we really are. We know who he is, and we know who we are: He is our Father and we are His children.You have been saved, and you had nothing to do with it…Ephesians 2:7-8 tells us that saving is was all his idea, and all his work. All we do is trust him enough to let him do it. It was His gift from start to finish! We didn’t play the major role. If we did, we’d probably go around bragging that we’d done the whole thing! No, we didn’t save ourselves. God does all the saving.
    You are freed from oppression…Psalms 107:2 says, Oh, thank God—he’s so good! His love never runs out.   All of you set free by God, tell the world!  Tell how he freed you from oppression. So are you feeling oppressed, you shouldn’t be, you have been set free by God.
    You are an heir to all creation…That’s right you are God’s heir. You own the stars, the planets the whole universe by being adopted by God. Romans 8: 16-17 tells us the Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.  Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.
    You are always protected by God…He tells us in Isaiah 46:4,  I’ve been carrying you on my back from the day you were born, and I’ll keep on carrying you when you’re old. I’ll be there, bearing you when you’re old and gray. I’ve done it and will keep on doing it, carrying you on my back, saving you. Wow, from the cradle to the grave, He has got us covered.
    You are a warrior and over-comer…Revelation 12:11 tells us that Satan will be defeated by you and I through the blood of the Lamb and the bold word of our witness. I am looking forward to that.
    You are to be an imitator of God… Ephesians 5:1 tells us to watch what God does, and then you do it, like children who learn proper behavior from their parents. Mostly what God does is love you. Keep company with him and learn a life of love. Observe how Christ loved us. His love was not cautious but extravagant. He didn’t love in order to get something from us but to give everything of himself to us. Can you love like that, and do what God does?
    You are to be a light unto the world… Matthew 5:14 tells us, you’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. You need to be public with this, as public as a city on a hill. You are light-bearers; you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.
    You always win with God, always, guaranteed… This promise is given in Romans 8:37… So, what do you think? With God on our side like this, how can we lose? If God didn’t hesitate to put everything on the line for us, embracing our condition and exposing himself to the worst by sending his own Son, is there anything else he wouldn’t gladly and freely do for us? And who would dare tangle with God by messing with one of God’s chosen? Who would dare even to point a finger? The One who died for us—who was raised to life for us!—is in the presence of God at this very moment sticking up for us. Do you think anyone is going to be able to drive a wedge between us and Christ’s love for us? There is no way! Not trouble, not hard times, not hatred, not hunger, not homelessness, not bullying threats, not backstabbing, not even the worst sins listed in Scripture can separate us from His love.

So do you see how powerful your new identity in Christ is? It is amazing. It is unbelievable. You have a new passport, a new ID, a new license written by the Blood of the Lamb, documented in the Lamb’s book of Life and given all authority by the Creator in His word. So now that you are aware of who you are, start living it, breathing it, acting upon it and fulfilling who you are in Christ. Start getting used to being a child of the King, as this life on earth is but a start. You will have all eternity to spend with the Lord, realizing your identity in Him, as your identity is Him. So rejoice.

Categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

3 replies

  1. Darrell, You might have a driver’s License but I strictly carry a pictured I. D carde. I use all the time when I go to vote! Its assurance to know whom will want to know who I really am. God does not hav eto show us aything we all know he Is God. No proof to let us know, Jesus died on the cross. God gave Jesus to us. Stay the course sir! I know God and Jesus loves You!

  2. Awesome

Leave a Reply

