God doesn’t check your Bad Credit

I was having a conversation the other day with my good friend and brother in the Lord, Howard.  This piece is a suggestion from him, as we discuss my blog from time to time, and he suggested that I write about it being a good thing that God doesn’t require a credit check on us personally.

Howard deals in an industry where credit can make you or break you. In real life credit can sometimes make you and/or break you depending on your circumstances. Do you want to buy a house? You need good credit. Do you want to buy a car? You need good credit. We life in an age where credit has become all important, and much of our life is controlled by a little piece of plastic in our pocket by which we can use our credit.

A perfect credit score under FICO is 850, and a perfect credit score under Vantage Score is 990. These scores are technically possible, according to FICO spokesperson, Craig Watts but may not be possible for anyone.

I was doing some research on perfect credit and read a statement from Craig Watts from FICO.

Craig Watts: In rare circumstances it is possible to get a FICO score of 850.

That’s the good news. Here’s the bad: For a broad section of the population, it probably isn’t possible, even if they do everything right.

As I read more about credit I have come to realize that your credit score is a numerical representation of what’s in your credit history file. It’s supposed to represent how credit worthy that you are.

I am so glad that God doesn’t require a credit check for my salvation. If there was a spiritual credit check that came from what was in my spiritual credit history file that would see how worthy I was to receive salvation, I am afraid that I would come up with bad credit. I would be denied. None of us, no not even one of us is worthy enough to receive credit for salvation from our God.

Here is the BAD NEWS…..We are not credit worthy. We cannot get a perfect spiritual credit score not matter what we do. It is not possibly for us in and of ourselves to achieve credit for salvation, even if we do everything right.

Here is the GOOD NEWS…. There is a way to a perfect spiritual credit score that we can achieve. The good thing is that there is nothing that we can do ourselves to obtain it. It is only attainable by the blood of the Lord Jesus Christ. God by His Son made it possible for us to have a perfect spiritual credit score.

Jesus is your perfect Credit Score… There are many things that ruin and damage our credit here in life. Things that determine our credit worthiness in life are subject to late payments, bankruptcy, too many loans, repossession, multiple credit cards; the list goes on and on. But when it comes to God, the only credit He will accept is the redeeming blood of Jesus Christ.

Do you want perfect credit with God? You can’t apply for it. You cannot get in the mail. No agency can help you attain it. The government can’t get it for you. You can’t work for it. Only Jesus and His gift on Calvary is acceptable credit before God. The credit that the blood of Christ offers is accepted at all locations in the universe and in all of God’s creation. Want to go to heaven? Only the credit of Jesus Christ is accepted there.

How do you obtain the perfect spiritual credit score that God offers though Jesus?

John 3:16-17 “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.”

You can take all your bad spiritual credit, your sin, and throw it into a big pile and say to God, “Here it is Lord” forgive me in the name of Jesus. If you understand that you are a sinner, and you believe that Jesus Christ is the only credit that God will accept for your sins, then you understand the power of God’s grace and forgiveness. The question is – are you ready to receive that perfect spiritual credit, by receiving God’s gift of His Son, Jesus Christ? If so, believe in Christ, repent of your sins, and you will have it……It’s that easy. Just pray….

“Heavenly Father, I know that my sins have separated me from you. In my heart I am truly sorry, and now I no longer want to live in sin away from you. Please forgive me, and help me to become born again. I believe that your Son, Jesus Christ died for my sins. I believe that He was resurrected from the dead, is alive, and is the only atonement for my sin. I invite Jesus to come into my heart, become Lord of my life, and to live in my heart from this day forward. I ask this in the name of my Savior, your Son Jesus…..Amen.”

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” (1 John 1:9)

What this verse in 1 John means is that if you have truly confessed your sins and prayed the prayer above, you have repented your sins, and God has fully forgiven you. And if God has now fully forgiven you, then you no longer have any more condemnation before God. You now have a perfect spiritual credit score before God, in Christ Jesus! You are now found worthy in God’s eyes by the sacrifice of your Savior, and are completely forgiven. Rejoice

Habakkuk 3:18…… I will rejoice in the LORD, I will joy in the God of my salvation.

Categories: Forgiveness, God

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Bro Darrell. I enjoyed reading your post this morning. As I read it, The song came to my mind. I owed a debt I could not pay, and it was growing everyday, but jesus paid it all for me. He gave His life on calvary He died to set the sinner free. He’ s my Savior, I love Him Yes I do. [Chorus] He came along, long way from Heaven to take away all sin and strife. He came along, long way from Heaven, Just to give to us eternal life. [2] No greater love was ever shown, no greater man was ever known, than Jesus, The lowly Nazarene, Although He never knew great fame, there is Healing power in His dear name, He my Savior, I know He is yours too………..He paid the debt in full, we don’t owe anything, but to love the Lord Our God with all of our heart. Blessings in the Name of Jesus Nedia

  2. Hello Darrell, as always I am blessed to read this. I do not own any credit cards. Hope you are well. Love this post.

Leave a Reply

