Who Will Love Me for Me?

According to Google, last year in the US alone there were 883,000,000 searches on the topic, “Why do I have no friends”? In this world where we seem to be so interconnected, it seems that for many, they have never been so alone. This life is filled with lonely people with hearts searching, wanting, and needing to be loved.

The basis of all we are, everything we believe, and all of our human existence is love.

I was recently listening to JJ Heller’s “What Love Really Means”, and my heart was moved to tears. Her music gives us a beautiful reminder that no matter where you find yourself in life, God loves you… The love of Christ is amazingly pure, no matter what you have done, or failed to do, our Lord is always there. The lyrics to her song, and link to the video is below.

JJ Heller..What Love Really Means-   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fUM86eL6tVw

He cries in the corner where nobody sees, He’s the kid with the story no one would believe. He prays every night, “Dear God won’t you please… Could you send someone here who will love me?”

Who will love me for me, Not for what I have done or what I will become
Who will love me for me…’Cause nobody has shown me what love
What love really means

Her office is shrinking a little each day, She’s the woman whose husband has run away
She’ll go to the gym after working today, Maybe if she was thinner …Then he would’ve stayed….And she says…

Who will love me for me? Not for what I have done or what I will become
Who will love me for me? ‘Cause nobody has shown me what love, what love really means

He’s waiting to die as he sits all alone, He’s a man in a cell who regrets what he’s done
He utters a cry from the depths of his soul….”Oh Lord, forgive me, I want to go home”
Then he heard a voice somewhere deep inside, And it said…”I know you’ve murdered and I know you’ve lied….I have watched you suffer all of your life . And now that you’ll listen, I’ll tell you that I

I will love you for you….Not for what you have done or what you will become
I will love you for you….I will give you the love
The love that you never knew

The words in this song serve as a reminder that God will love us for who we are. We do not have to act a certain way, or live up to anyone else’s expectation, for Christ loves us for who we are. Jesus loves us in spite of all our short comings. Jesus loves us when we fail, Jesus loves us when we struggle, when we are broke, when we are down, when we misstep…Jesus always LOVES us. No matter the circumstance, true love can be measured by the love of God extended to us in Christ Jesus.

The words by JJ Heller serve to remind us, that Jesus Christ will love us for who we are. It does not matter what we have done in the past. He will not hold our failings against us. He will not remind us of our failures and disappointments. He loves us in all circumstances and in all situations. His love is constant for us, it does not matter who we are, or what we do. His love never waivers or never fails. The love of Christ has no limitations. His love is true, and only true love NEVER says, “You have gone too far, I do not love you any more”, or “I can’t deal with this, you need to leave”.

We must not measure love only by our human experience because we as humans fail. The problem is that people who love us have free will to change their minds. Someone may have feelings of love for you, but that person may not choose to be with you any longer because of  life’s circumstances or they reason it impossible  to want to stay with you. Not only does each and every one of us deserve real love, it is also what our soul desperately wants. Love is our healing.

But Jesus says…. I will love you for you….Not for what you have done or what you will become….I will love you for you….I will give you the love the love that you never knew

Know that when Jesus loves you, you can bare every part of yourself to Him, even the weird, bizarre, messed-up, dark deep little pieces of your inner soul without fear of rejection and be assured that you will be loved and appreciated. He loves all of you, and he intimately knows every part of you. He knows that we can be difficult and a little strange at times, but in our weakness and failing is when His love is the strongest for us.

He loves you for you, and that love will never change.

The love of Christ comforts our every pain, and heals the broken cry in every one of us.  

Categories: Marriage

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. How many people are looking or runing form the very love they need. Jesus… They just don’t realize that only Jesus can satify what their looking for till they get self out of the way.

  2. I also cried when I listened to J.J. Heller’s song. I could relate to the words she sang about “if she was thinner, then he would have stayed. I know that Jesus loves me for me. No one else will ever be able to love me like HE does.

  3. Bro. Darrell, I quote this scripture: Deuteronomy 10:12- What doth the Lord require of thee [that means all the Body of Christ ] but to fear the Lord Thy God, to walk in all His ways, and to love Him, and to serve the Lord Thy God with all thy heart and all thy soul. This song comes to mind in reading Janice’s comment. Only Jesus can satisfy your soul….Only He can change your life and make it whole…He’ll give you peace, you never knew, sweet joy, and friendship too…..Only Jesus can satisfy your soul. 1JOHN 3:18 My little children, let us not love in word ,neither in tongue; but in deed and in truth. What a loving God we serve. Blessings

  4. Jesus will, I know doews Love Me Darrell. I do a lot of praising Him in the churchbuilding on Sundays. Everyone likes what I do. including our Pastor.

Leave a Reply

