Are you smarter than a 5th grader?

In this picture what you envision with your naked eyes seems impossible. There seems to be no way possible for the small child to move the extremely large Sumo wrestler in front of him. But undaunted by the obstacle in front of him, we see the young man in the picture dressed for battle, and he is believing he can move the mountainous man before him.

There is a TV show that asks, “Are you smarter than a 5th grader”? I believe that this is what this picture symbolizes. Here we see a boy who could be a fifth grader, believing in faith that he can move the huge grown warrior in front of Him. So I ask you when it comes to your faith; Are you smarter than this 5th grader?

He has placed his hands on the larger man, and when I say larger, I mean MUCH larger, and it looks as if he believes he can move him. The interesting thing about this photo is, if you look closely at the Sumo wrestler’s left foot, it is off the ground. It appears as if the force from the small boy’s hands is beginning to drive him backwards.

This I believe is what the Lord is trying to show us in

Matthew 17:20 “You don’t have enough faith,” Jesus told them. “I tell you the truth, if you had faith even as small as a mustard seed, you could say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it would move. Nothing would be impossible.”

When we believe in faith and step forward to move the obstacle in front of us, even as the child is doing in the photo, we enable God to work on our behalf. With our human eyes we look at problems that are bigger than us, many times as great mountains. They will always seem as such if you focus on them instead of your faith in your creator.  When you focus on the obstacle in front of you, God looks small, and when you focus on God the obstacle in front of you becomes small. The truth is your problems are even smaller than the smallest grain of sand before God.

Do you want to see God in action; do you want to see the power of the living God? Do something as his conduit; don’t be afraid—you’re not going to be embarrassed. Stretch out; don’t hold back—you’re not going to come up short; it is all up to you. God is looking for you to just believe, follow His instruction, and if you do, He will rock your world and the world of those around you if you will just have faith in Him and step up and step out. He will perform.

Believe in faith that God can move your mountains of past failures, your mountains of illness, your mountains of stressed income, your mountains of marital problems, or whatever your mountain is, God stand willing and ready to perform on your behalf. All you have to do is believe. It is our human nature to dwell on our problems, weaknesses and failures. It is our spiritual nature to have faith in God for our victory, strength and success.

We become easily accustomed to seeing life from our own natural viewpoint. As we go through life and face adversity so long, we begin to look at things from our own viewpoint and not God’s. We begin to think, “How am I going to get through this? Where the world is the money going to come from? How will I ever overcome this sickness? ”How will my marriage ever stay together”? That is man’s thinking, not God’s.  When we are stuck seeing things from the human viewpoint, we need to be reminded of the words of King David, “The battle is not mine; it’s the Lord’s.” See it, have faith, believe it, and He will act upon it.

In Acts the 17th chapter we read in His Word, that in Him we live and move and have our being, and that we are his offspring. Realizing that we are the sons and daughters of the Almighty God we can boldly believing in faith, confidently call upon Him for help to move the mountains in our lives. It is nothing for God to move and remove huge mountains and obstacles that are in our way. He will reach out His hand and help you and move whatever it is that seems too big, too heavy and too large in your life for you to overcome. Be just as the small child in the picture above, place your hands on the obstacle in front of you, move forward in faith and let God move the mountains in your life.

Categories: FAITH, God, Prayer

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 replies

  1. Amen Bro Darrell, that is a message within its self. God will cultivate that faith if we allow Him too. I will in the next few days be observing my Birthday and I have never seen God fell me yet. With Him and in Him I have my very being. He is the Author and the Finisher of my faith. Someone put out this little slogan. ” If Grandpa says No, ask Grandma.” The Body of Christ should say ” If the world says no, then ask God, but the thing about it is we should ask God first and then we will know. Another thing is unless we humble ourselves as a little child, we shall not enter into the kingdom of Heaven. A little child has so much faith. He knows a lot of times how to handle a situation. Simply put, A child knows how to love and God is that love. Blessings

  2. This was exactly what I needed to hear tonight.I was faceing a mountain that I thought was too big for me to handle.God showed me today some things to do and I said I am not qualified to do this Father.I’m not a lawyer and this will take someone smarter than I,but i have someone smarter than me and it is Him.I know I can do this with His guidence even tho I don’t have the know how,He will tell me what to do and lead me in the right path.Thank you so much for sharing this Word and may our God bless you greatly..Melvis

  3. darrell, I always watch the program I am not a big fan of Jeff. His hosting does nothing. the kids arte a bit much as well but a contestant can win a big amount of money, I know we should not be greedy for greed isnt right. I still say these blogs are incredible!

Leave a Reply

