In You, I Am Comforted

Our own carnal mind and flesh will always conflict with the truth of the Spirit. Below I have listed the things your mind and heart will say, and I have then listed the reality of who we are in Christ Jesus. He is our comfort that the world cannot take away.

Lord, I am Troubled….
In You, I am Comforted

Psalm 119:76 May your unfailing love be my comfort.    

The mercies of God are tender mercies. In God we experience the mercies from the love of a father, and the compassion and mercies from the love of a mother to her son. He is our all in all.

Lord, I am Anxious
In You, I am Comforted

 
John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

The peace Jesus is talking about here is escaping the problems of this world, but rather the gift of calmness and comfort, and confidence that comes from our relationship with Christ and faith in His purpose. The peace that Jesus gives is grounded in our salvation, the assurance of the cross, and not in our own circumstances. We will have troubles, but we will also have His peace, be comforted by the Spirit, as we delight in our own relationship with the Father.

 

Lord, I am Confused
In You, I am Comforted

 
I Corinthians 14:33
For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace…

The Lord wants us to simply admit when we are confused. It shows that we are human and in need of His peace and comfort. Sometimes our life seems like one accident after another. We may feel as if our life is going nowhere.  It is important at these times to fully realize that He is our Shepherd.  We are His lambs. He will show us the way out of our confusion. We are not supposed to have all the answers, but He does and He will reveal them as we follow Him.  Life is full of twists and turns, and many times we find ourselves in a maze, confused as where to go. He will lead us in His paths of righteousness. Confused? It is ok, He will comfort us as all things become clear as we rest our minds and hearts in Him.
Lord, I am Afraid
In You, I am Comforted

 
2 Tim 1:7 You did not give me a spirit of fear, but of power, of love, and of a sound mind.

 
Since we are all human, I know sometimes we all become oppressed and assaulted by fear at times. We all experience anxiety, and worry about what is going to happen. Sometimes we are onset with a sense of a disaster that is looming in our life. There will be times when we think that chaos and crisis that is going to come upon us — these are forms of fear; this is what Paul is describing as the spirit of fear. This verse says that these feelings do not come from God. Jesus told us to “Fear not!”  When these feelings and thoughts come upon us we are stop them dead in their tracks, and lift them up to the Author of our comfort, Christ Jesus. We can stop our minds from going that direction by directing our thoughts to Him. The enemy is the spirit of fear.

God has not given us the spirit of fear, but the spirit of power, of courage and resolution, to meet difficulties and dangers; the spirit of love to him, which will carry us through opposition. The Holy Spirit working in us does not give us a timid or cowardly disposition, or un-Godly fears. We are likely to bear our burdens, afflictions and trials well. In Christ we have strength and power from God to enable us to bear them all.
Lord, I am Lonely
In You, I am Comforted

 
Hebrews 13:5 God has said, “I will Never, No never will I leave you, and I never, No never will forsake you.

Jesus Christ is the ultimate cure for loneliness.

Jesus is with us every moment of every day, as close as our skin. He is with us in every turn of our life. He is with us if we are tear-stained or if we are drenched in smiles. Who else is there like our Lord?

Jesus tells us, I want to be with you; I gave Myself to you; I gave Myself for you. I will NEVER, and then He repeats it so again we are assured, NO NEVER forsake you.

What an unbelievable, astonishing promise. By the world’s standards this sounds too good to be true. When you feel lonely, deserted, and it seems that you are all by yourself, lay aside all your hurt, fear, pain, and know in your heart that there is no more wonderful promise than this, it  contains the sum and substance of all His promises “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

 

Psalms 143: 8-10

As you wake me each morning with the sound of your loving voice, I’ll go to sleep each night trusting in you. Point out the road I must travel; I’m all ears, all eyes before you. Save me from those who would bring me harm, God— you’re my only hope!  Teach me how to live to please you, because you’re my God.  Lead me forward by your blessed Spirit, my feet on firm ground.

God is ALWAYS speaking to you and I, He is our comfort. He knew what was going on in your life yesterday, last week, last month, and last year. As you were in need, He was there, and He is here for you now.

Pray this prayer with me

Lord I am nothing without you. I see myself in my own humanity and I know who I am. I realize that in you I have purpose, I have life and I have my existence. Only in Christ and in Him crucified does my life have meaning. In Christ I am more than a conqueror, in Christ I am free, In Christ I will overcome all, In Christ I have NO fear, In Christ I have a friend, In Christ I have a companion, and in Christ I am COMFORTED….

Categories: FAITH, future, God, Hope, Jesus, Renewed Strength, Troubles

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Amen, Bro. Darrell, I am glad that we have that comfort in knowing that Jesus is there with us. He is our refuge from the storms of life. I thought about Peter when he was out on the sea, Jesus simply told Peter to come unto Him and as Peter was standing there the wind came up and it made him afraid and he started to sink, he cried out Lord save me and immediately Jesus stretched out His hand, told Peter ” O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt. Peter had the faith to walk on the water, but when the storm came his faith started waining. Matthew 14:29-31 [KJV] We are comforted through the word of God in any problem or situation that comes our way. We are comforted in having the promise that He will never leave us nor forsake us. This song comes to mind “The God On The Mountain ” He is surely that God on the mountain and surely the same God in the valley. When everything seems to go wrong we can be assured of God being there Just for us, His sheep. Be Blessed If God brings us to it, He will take us through it. N

  2. Praise the Lord for He is good, Hey Derrell I was so blessed from this Godly word today! Thanks and keep it up brother! I covet your prayers for the Mayor and City Council election in White Settlement this may 14th. I do feel under attack on my witness for Christ everyday. You reminded me that Christ does not give us the Spirit of fear! That only comes from the enemy and our own fleshly thinking. He that is in me is stronger then he that is in this world! Amen Bro. Ya I am running for re-election of Place 1and Jerry Burns for Mayor. God Bless you!

Leave a Reply

