Shelter in the Storm

I know the pain of a having my life devastated by desperate finances, lost loved ones and broken relationships. I was recently sitting in my house watching while a violent thunderstorm was taking place outside. There was thunder, lightning, high winds and hail bombarding the earth. I watched as the wind broke branches from the trees. I watched as the hail pelted the earth denting cars and breaking trees. It was amazing to watch the destructive power of the storm. I sat two feet from my front window and even though I could see the destruction  taking place outside my window, I sat inside my house comfortable, unaffected by what was going on outside.

I know what it feels like to me in the midst of a real storm both in nature and in real life. On April 10, 1979 I was living in Wichita Falls, Texas. I was caught up in my car in a super-cell F-4 tornado, referred to those in Texas as “Terrible Tuesday” that killed 42 people, injured thousands and left over 10,000 without homes. I was picked up by the monster tornado, carried ¼ mile and dumped in a lake. I was injured in the tornado, and unlike many who were caught in cars, my life was spared. I was hurt, beat-up, bloody, and injured all over my body. I know what it feels like to be caught up in a violent storm, and suffer devastation from it.

I also know what it feels like to be caught up in life’s storms. I know the pain of a having my life devastated by desperate finances, lost loved ones and broken relationships. Life can bring terrible storms in to our path that leave us emotionally hurt, beat-up, bloody, and injured. I have learned that the pain from these types of storms far outlast those from most physical injuries. While most physical injuries heal and are not forgotten, injuries suffered in our personal life are sometimes are hard to recover from.

Our heavenly Father is very aware of lives and has promised to be our shelter from the violent storms that can occur as we live our lives.

In Psalm 55: 4-8 David wrote,

My insides are turned inside out; specters of death have me down.
I shake with fear; I shudder from head to foot. “Who will give me wings,” I ask—
“wings like a dove?”  Get me out of here on dove wings; I want some peace and quiet.
I want a walk in the country; I want a cabin in the woods; I would hurry to my place of shelter, far from the rage and strormy weather                                                                                                                                                                       

Ever felt like that? I know I have. The kind of storm when you feel like you could just die from the pain; when you wish you could escape the pain from life on the wings of a dove; when you wish you could have some peace and quiet in your life? The Lord show us this in His word to let us know that all of us even a mighty king like David goes through the painful storms that life brings. He is quick to remind us that he would hurry to his place of shelter in the mist of the storm.

In Psalm 61:4 David wrote

 Let me live forever in your sanctuary, safe beneath the shelter of your wings!

Wherever we find ourselves, no matter the situation we have the ability to call out to God and receive His promise of refuge and shelter. There is always an open line to the throne of grace. When the pain from life and storms overtake our daily walk should be the time we go running in a hurry to God. When life overtakes us we should be driven nearer to God, who is our comfort. When we are overwhelmed, we need to be on our knees to God in prayer.

God’s promise of shelter is built upon a rock. This rock is Jesus Christ, who in real life calmed the storm. On God’s mercy, as on a rock, David desired to rest his soul; but he in the midst of a storm and was unable to get out of it without help. David found that he could not find himself on the rock of salvation, unless God placed him there. As we realize in the middle of any storm in our life that our shelter is God, and there is nothing in ourselves, we need to pray to Jesus Christ, our rock. The service of God will be our rescue in the midst of hurt and pain. He can heal our broken and hurting hearts. He can heal our broken relationships. He can return all that we have lost and give us a great future if we can just trust Him.

If we pray to God, he can heal the damage from storms in our lives as He is a salve for every sore, and a relief to our hearts when they are burdened. In every trial let us call upon our God, and he will save us. He will hear our prayers, and not blame us for calling upon Him too often; the more the better.

Luke 8:24

Jesus got up and he rebuked the wind and the raging waves. Suddenly the storm stopped and all was calm.

We should be comforted that as we find ourselves in the midst of a storm, in the mist of peril, that we have a Savior to trust in and pray to. Jesus knows what it feels like to be in the middle of the sea with no protection and to be in the middle of a storm.  In this life we must expect storms. The disciples in the middle of the storm, in fear came to their Master. It is the same with us, when the trials and storms are swelling and raging, sometimes we feel ourselves in mortal danger. It is then that we must cry out, Lord Jesus, keep not silence to me, or I am undone. Great storms of doubt and fear will occur in or lives, but He is our shelter and our comfort. The disciples were astonished when Jesus calmed the storm. They never saw such a violent storm instantly at once turned into a perfect calm. The same Jesus that calmed that storm can be our shelter and comfort from the storm in our lives. We need to take confidence and comfort in him our Savior, our refuge in the midst of a storm.

Categories: FAITH, future, God, Hope, Power of Prayer, Prayer, Troubles

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Thank you for shareing this. I recently posted something facebook (bacastreams) about listening for the cries in the storm. There are also poems on my website that relate to your article. God has certaintly been the shelter in all my storms, praise Him!

  2. darrell, White tornado came down from the sky and I had to shelter myself in dad’s office this was 3 years back. Happy to be alive thesew days. I know God loves me. I love Him. Its never easy losing a loved one. We all know that.

  3. Poignant and timely! thank you!

    The storms pass, and then there is the damage cleanup and long recovery.

  4. Darrell, blessed by your words of encouragement. I especially Love David’s words you shared from Psalm 61:4, “Let me live forever in your sanctuary, safe beneath the shelter of your wings!” Nomatter what we may go through in life Jesus is with us and the Holy Spirit empowers us to come through…

Leave a Reply

