Feeling Like Joe Biden

I was driving down I-95 in Florida this week in rush hour traffic, bumper to bumper. Driving in traffic is a lot like life, you have to be acutely aware of not only your own actions but of those around you as well. I was traveling north and I looked over at the southbound side and it was completely empty. There was not even one vehicle going southbound. I surmised that there must have been a major accident that had completely blocked traffic. I turned on the radio to hear the traffic report.

About the same time that the radio was giving the traffic update, I began to see the police cars and motorcycles. There were more police vehicles than I had ever seen before. They just kept coming and coming as they rode in what seemed to be a predetermined formation. At the same time I was watching the parade of law enforcement going by on the other side of the freeway, I heard that all commuters going southbound on 1-95 needed to take alternate routes as it was blocked and cleared for Vice President Biden, as he was in town.

Sitting in stop and go traffic I could see the entourage leading his procession as well as the helicopters above me in traffic. As the procession passed the vehicles began to get closer together and then the main nucleus of the Vice President’s protection was directly across from me. The main cluster had a multitude of black SUVs with all the windows blackened out. I knew that Joe Biden was in one of them but had no idea which one. I figured that there were so many vehicles that looked alike in the center so a potential threat would not know which SUV the Vice president was in. They acted as decoys in case of a potential attack. As he passed the same the parade of law enforcement followed him car by car, motorcycle by motorcycle, until they had all passed and I saw the lone officer trailing the pack, and they were all gone.

I thought to myself, “Wow”, there is no way anyone could get at him. He was completely protected all around. My mind turned to a verse in scripture that affords me the same kind of protection and more as God tells us in Psalms 91:11-12

 God will order his angels to protect you wherever you go. They will hold you up with their hands so you won’t even hurt your foot on a stone.

How powerful is that, angels under direct orders from the Almighty with their hands around me to protect me. Their protection is so complete that it even goes to the point of even keeping me from stubbing my toe. I think my angels must have falling asleep a few times because I have stubbed my toes more than once. All joking aside His protection is absolutely guaranteed in His word. God made it a point to reiterate it over and over so you and I would get the message. He loves us, we belong to Him, and He absolutely WILL protect us at ALL times and in ALL situations. This is the promise of God.

Psalms 91 is a Declaration from God assuring us of His protection

You who sit down in the High God’s presence, spend the night in Shaddai’s shadow, Say this: “God, you’re my refuge.  I trust in you and I’m safe!”  That’s right—He rescues you from hidden traps, shields you from deadly hazards.  His huge outstretched arms protect you— under them you’re perfectly safe;   His arms fend off all harm.

   Fear nothing—not wild wolves in the night, not flying arrows in the day,
Not disease that prowls through the darkness, not disaster that erupts at high noon.   Even though others succumb all around, drop like flies right and left, no harm will even graze you.

You’ll stand untouched, watch it all from a distance, and watch the wicked turn into corpses.  Yes, because God’s your refuge, the High God your very own home,

Evil can’t get close to you, harm can’t get through the door.  He ordered his angels to guard you wherever you go.  If you stumble, they’ll catch you; their job is to keep you from falling. You’ll walk unharmed among lions and snakes, and kick young lions and serpents from the path.

“If you’ll hold on to me for dear life,” says God, “I’ll get you out of any trouble. I’ll give you the best of care if you’ll only get to know and trust me.  Call me and I’ll answer, be at your side in bad times;


I’ll rescue you, and then throw you a party.  I’ll give you a long life; give you a long drink of salvation!”

In God’s protection you will find all you need and all you desire. There is protection for all believers promised in the midst of all dangers. As we trust in God his comfort will keep us from being afraid without reason, and our faith in Him will keep us from being anxious. When we began to realize that whatever is done, our Heavenly Father’s will is done we will begin to relax in Him relieving all our anxiety and fear. As we walk in His will, relieved of all fear, confident and assured of our future, we will begin to see His promised fulfilled in our lives.

No matter the situation we find ourselves in, nothing shall harm us. Though troubles and afflictions surround us, they will work not for our hurt but for our good, even though enduring them may not be joyous at the time. God promises us that He will deliver us in due time from troubles and dangers that come upon us in life.

I am sure that as Joe Biden was riding down the freeway that morning he felt secure and safe enveloped by his security forces. That’s kind of the way I feel, safe and secure, enveloped by the huge outstretched arms of my amazing God. I am protected from ALL harm as I travel through life surrounded by heaven’s angelic forces guarding me and keeping me from harm. I have my voice that can call out to God on speed dial, and He promises that He will always answer and be right there for me and get me out of trouble. All He asks of me is that I get to know Him and trust Him, and hold on to Him for dear life, I can gladly do that.

Categories: God, Thankful, Troubles

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 replies

  1. Amen Bro. Darrell good sermon, hope you had a great weekend, It is so comforting to know that the angels of the Lord are encamped around us and the scripture says lest we stump our toe against a rock. I think about that rock being Jesus and He told Peter “Upon this Rock I will build my church and the gates of hell SHALL NOT PREVAIL AGAINST IT. When the angels of the Lord are camped around us, we can be assured in this one thing that He is a very present help in time of trouble. Blessings Pray you have a great week

  2. Great reminder. I read a book several years ago, can’t remember the title, that said if Satan could, he’d kill all the Christians in car accidents. When I think of all the accidents I’ve been in and walked away from without a scratch, the dangerous places I’ve been around the world and never been touched, the miles I’ve travelled in the air safely–I know he’s held me in His protective care. Thanks for the wordl

  3. He simply wants you to serve Him with your life every day every way and wherever you are doing

Leave a Reply

