God Wants You to Laugh

Genesis 21:6

Sarah said, “God has brought me laughter, and everyone who hears about this will laugh with me.”

When we laugh, everything in our mind that can bring us down, and all sorrow is removed. Laughter itself is so powerful that it will engulf all of our senses when experienced, while overwhelming us with its presence, and submitting us to its delight. Thank God for His wonderful gift of laughter.  – Darrell Creswell

Louis Armstrong once sang-

When you’re smiling……When you’re smiling

The whole world smiles with you

When you’re laughing…….When you’re laughing

The sun(or Son) comes shining through

There is great joy and expectation when God comes into someone’s life—when they are redeemed by the blood of Jesus Christ. Genesis likens this experience as being like that of a child being born to a woman who had not previously had any children. The birth of the new child changed EVERYTHING. God brought her laughter, signifying great joy in her life.

There are few expectations in the Bible that came with the wonder of the birth of Isaac. He was born according to the promise, born when it was considered impossible by man—given the circumstances. Sarah was old and barren. She was well past child-bearing age.  According to the human condition and time table, it was impossible for Sarah to conceive a child—but God’s time is not man’s time.

God’s promises and mercies will certainly come at the time which He sets, and only He knows what is the best time for you to receive them. Sarah named her son Isaac, the word translated literally means laughter.  When we receive great blessings, and happiness comes into our hearts by the wondrous gifts from God, and joy and comfort rises in our soul, it is good to remember how the beginning of the situation was when we first received our promise.

When Sarah received the promise, she laughed mockingly with distrust and doubt. She could not believe that such a thing was possible. When God gives us the joy and happiness—by His mercies which we so long for in life, when we have doubted and distrusted His promises—we ought to remember, with sorrow and shame, our distrust of His promises.  We ought to remember that when we wanted them, we pursued them in our own fashions—not waiting on God in His wisdom to fulfill His designs for our life, in His timetable. God’s fulfillment of His promise filled Sarah with joy and wonder.

God’s promises to us will always surpass our own thoughts and expectations: We cannot even imagine that He will do so much for us, we who deserve so little. Who could have imagined God would send his Son to die for us, give us redemption by that death through His Spirit to make us holy, and even submit His angels to our care to watch over us? Who could have imagined that all the great sins of humanity would be pardoned by the Creator of all that exists and such worthless worms such as you and I would be taken into covenant with Him and adopted as His own children? That alone should bring great joy and laughter always into our lives and fill our mouths with praise. Sarah finally understood that when God says it, believe it, He will perform it as she exclaimed “God has brought me laughter, and everyone who hears about this will laugh with me.” I am smiling with Sarah now, thousands of years later, still rejoicing in the goodness of God.

What God’s word is shows us here is that God brings joy into our lives and to all those around us. Likewise, when Christ becomes a reality to you, redeeming you from sin, He will bring joy and laughter into your life. The existence of the blood of Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit working in your life will add a whole new dimension to your life. Your life will be changed, and as your life is changed you will begin to influence and change those around you—not only in your own life, but in the lives of those at your job, your family, and your church.

There is such a revolutionary change that occurs inside a person when they are redeemed, that they cannot just “add Jesus”, and carry on with their lives doing things the same way they have been. It is no longer “business as usual”. When Jesus becomes Lord in a person’s life, everything, and I mean “everything” changes. If you were not expecting good things to come your way before you accepted the Lord, that is about to change. You can begin to look forward with excited optimism to more—to feeling more, experiencing more, living more, and sharing more. Your life will become more of a blessing to those around you. Why is that, you may ask? Because a life in Christ Jesus is a richer, fuller, more fulfilling, and satisfying life. He wants to bring you laughter and joy.

Instead of the old weight of sin that used to weigh you down, and cause chaos and heartache in your life, you can now begin to look forward to, and expect blessings in, your life. And there is an added bonus. When the blood of Jesus takes hold in your life, all of a sudden your life begins to bless others’ lives. As you begin to interact with those on your job, interact at home with your family, and interact with those in your church, the love of Christ and the power of God will begin to be demonstrated in your life, affecting everyone around you.

We can see in this scripture that there is joy and laughter as God adds to your life and brings about change through His promises. Change for today. Change for tomorrow.  God is saying that you have a new birth, be excited about it. Expect miracles. Expect growth. Things are going to happen. Make room for more births into the kingdom of heaven. Start doing something, start enlarging and expanding your way of thinking. You are a child of the King, a representative of the Living God, and He is going to give you great joy, peace, and laughter if you can wrap your mind around what he wants to do in your life.

How do I know? Because His Word says that He said so! He tells us in His Word to move ahead and experience the power of the living God in our lives. He is saying, do not believe small for you are in the service of the Almighty God, equipped by the blood of Jesus Christ through the power of the Holy Spirit, so “Believe Big”. And as you use this kingdom principal things are going to happen, there is going to be growth in your personal life, more abundance in your family life, and as you share Him, He will bring joy and laughter to your life, and to the lives of those around you.

Everything depends on you! If we move and act by His Spirit working in our lives and allow ourselves to become engulfed in His glory, and submissive to the work He has called every believer to, we can shake up our entire nation—we can bring life and joy in our city. Instead of sitting around saying, “Oh I’m just so glad to be saved”, he compels us to take action and move forward. We have His assurance that if we will just act, do something; if we will just stretch out in faith, He ensures us that we will never be embarrassed, we will not fail, God will perform upon our actions. So do not hold back in your life. Expect great things to happen as you began to share with others the power of the living God that is inside of you, spreading the joy and laughter with others that He has given you.

Do you want to see God in action; do you want to see the power of the living God? Do something as his conduit; don’t be afraid—you’re not going to be embarrassed. Stretch out; don’t hold back—you’re not going to come up short; it is all up to you. God is looking for you to just believe, to follow His instruction, and when you do, He will rock your world and the world of those around you—if you will just have faith in Him and receive His promises into your life. He will perform His promises in your life, and just like Sarah, you will say “God has brought me laughter, and everyone who hears about this will laugh with me.”

When we laugh in His joy, everything in our mind that can bring us down or bring us sorrow is removed. Laughter itself is so powerful that it will engulf all of our senses when experienced, overwhelming us with its presence, submitting us to its delight. Thank God for His wonderful gift of laughter.  – Darrell Creswell

Categories: Bible, future, God, Jesus, Joy

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. [1] When the Lord turned again the captivity of Zion, We were like them that dream. [2] Then was our mouth filled with laughter, and our tongue with singing; Then said they among the heathenThe Lord hath done great things for them. [3] The Lord hath done great things for us; Whereof we are glad. [4] Turn again our captivity. O, Lord, as the streams in the south. [5] Those that sow in tears shall reap in joy. [6] He that goeth forth and weepeth, bearing precious seed, Shall doubtless come again with rejoicing , bringing his sheaves with him………Psalm 126: 1-6 [KJV] …..Good Message Bro. Darrell……..Prov. 17:22 [KJV] A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones……………..Blessings

  2. Hi Darrell I finally made it back here to comment, thank you for your message it gives hope as well as comfort in knowing that every cloud has a silver lining, if our focus is on The Lord , He works everything for good in our lives.

    To be honest I’m in two minds about Humor, some is good as and you shared Laughter has wonderful positives, but some is bad, it may even make people laugh but that does not mean it is acceptable to God.

    Also there is a saying laugh and the world laughs with you cry and you cry alone, God tells us the opposite, we are to carry each others burdens and cry with those who are crying and but yes rejoice with those who are happy.

    I do not believe that Paul and Silas were Happy Clappy when they were whipped, shackled together and thrown onto the cold hard floor of the prison and you can be sure there was no a’larte menu to enjoy but wow filled with The Spirit they were praising God and I think Darrell that is the heart of your message.

    I use to be known as Happy Annie, I have always had the gift of humor, I believe now because my life was so hard. I was often invited to parties, being popular because I made people laugh and I enjoyed seeing then do so but at one time it was just a front, I use to go home and cry, feeling lost and alone. The difference today is although I have experienced violent storms and still do at times, I have deep inner Joy and I hold close to my heart God’s promise below.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    I have been reading some of your other messages Darrell and they have much Truth and we know God’s Truth does not return to Him void but what is outstanding in your sharing, is your heart of Love, and I thank God for the beauty of your spirit, God bless you, Gracie and your family, now and always.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    • Thank you Anne, God has blessed you with a gift of encouragement – You are truly a blessing. Your comments are full of enlightenment from God’s word – Thanks, In Christ Darrell

      • Thank you Darrell, a lot of my friends call me a Banarbas and I do seek to encourage, I believe it’s very important and it is also confirmed in the Scriptures, when it’s genuine and not just flattery so I always seek for something to commend but I will also correct error, as God asks us to both male or feamale, there is only one Truth and that is God’s and we are to stand up for it, often worldly or fleshy understanding is dangerous, this is why we ask and receive God’s wisdom.

        Well I thought I would come back Darrell and just share my day with you , most of which was spent in Hospital or bed. Not long after commenting this morning I was in extreme pain and could not walk ,a few days earlier a friendly dog had jumped up on me and caused me to loose my balance and the fall has inflamed a pre- existing problem with my hips as advised by the Doctor after the ex-rays today and the fall I had a few weeks ago didn’t help either.

        Well with my Married name being Stocks, when I arrived at the Hospital they did a Stock Take as I was taken to be ex- rayed, it went ok but it reminded me that recently I had seen a sign that said Hurry while Stocks last, now if that is not bad enough, then I was told not to worry that New Stocks were on the way, Wow you can be sure Darrell that with me being 60 and Ron 78 I did not laugh like Sarah! of course I’m pleased that they value us as unique, as they also said that The Stocks were a limited edition 😀

        Something Special happened that I just have to share with you Darrell… when we were crossing over the Border from Sydney to Queensland where Ron was born and wanted to retire, …there was a sign that said Stocks crossing, Wow! imagine that, they knew we were coming, Ron assured me Queenslanders are very friendly and welcoming 🙂

        Well that’s my day Darrell plus a bit more, thank you for sharing it with me, now I have to go and check my Stocks and Bonds before I go back to bed, oh yes I almost forgot, Ron brought me a lovely bunch of flowers, they were Stocks and Daffodils, I guess were everywhere 🙄 ok you can forget about the Stocks I’m off, I’m not going to hang around here.

        Love from – Annie has lost it!

      • If I were you, I would put all my STOCK in God 🙂 Blessings Darrell

  3. Many years ago Darrell after loosing my way, my heart cupboard was very bare but God the Supplier was always there and when I called to Him in sorrow and regret, He forgave and restored and He supplied my needs and even some of my wants I received, but life got in the way, I was so busy from day to day and kept God at bay but feeling something was amiss I took Stock and found my provisions very low so I asked God to replenish them and He gave me abundantly of His Royal Bounty and He keeps stocking it up as I sit at His feet, so no matter how often the destroyer tries to deplete my Stock it’s always overflowing. Does that mean only good comes my way, no just as God does not force me to seek and obey, He also does not do so with those who have gone astray and Satan is still trying to get the upper hand but Wow The good Shepherd guards His Stock well, He never sees me wanting Spiritually and when I listen to His voice and Trust and obey He leads the way.

    Thank you Darrell, for your faithfulness to many, I look forward to sharing with you again, I hope to Post more of my life story soon, I call it A Life that is Blessed and it was and is even in the times of darkness, I will be using some of your graphics, Thank you again for sharing them, they are very special and as they say a Picture says a thousand words but sometimes the captions need detail, thank you for your detail too, have a blessed day.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  4. Hi Darrell many years ago after loosing my way, my heart cupboard was very bare but God the Supplier was always there and when I called to Him in sorrow and regret, He forgave and restored and He supplied my needs and even some of my wants I received, but life got in the way, I was so busy from day to day and kept God at bay but feeling something was amiss I took Stock and found my provisions very low so I asked God to replenish them and He gave me abundantly of His Royal Bounty and He keeps stocking it up as I sit at His feet, so no matter how often the destroyer tries to deplete my Stock it’s always overflowing. Does that mean only good comes my way, no just as God does not force me to seek and obey, He also does not do so with those who have gone astray and Satan is still trying to get the upper hand but Wow The good Shepherd guards His Stock well, He never sees me wanting Spiritually and when I listen to His voice and Trust and obey He leads the way.

    Thank you Darrell, for your faithfulness to many, I look forward to sharing with you again, I hope to Post more of my life story soon, I call it A Life that is Blessed and it was and is even in the times of darkness, I will be using some of your graphics, Thank you again for sharing them, they are very special and as they say a Picture says a thousand words but sometimes the captions need detail, thank you for your detail too, have a blessed day.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    • Thank you Anne -We have a Great Shepherd that watches over us and I am thankful for that. I deeply enjoy making the graphics and am doubly blessed when people use them to bless others. I look forward to reading A Life that is Blessed – In the love of Christ-Darrell

      • Hi Darrell, your words as always are kind, thank you, as our Brother in The Lord we would like to offer you an Award (see link below) it’s more like a blessing as there are no rules, it’s just our way of saying thank you for being part of our Family in Christ Jesus.

        Blog Post – http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/the-king-of-kings-friendship-award/

        The Link below is part of my Life story but it does have more links on it but I do realise Darrell your time is limited and mostly my Posts like my comments have detail but I would like to share with you how the Lord was always there even in my lost years, although He was kept at a distance, my sin stopped Him from comming close to me.

        Blog Post – http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/the-early-years-a-little-lost-girl/

        This link below is the Post about when I fell into sin but did not fall away meaning reject Jesus and it is the one where I used your wonderful Graffics and will do so again in the future. My Story has a lot of detail and for some my sharing of God’s Truth may be hard for them to understand, with their having heard only a portion of the Gospel of our Salvation in Christ Jesus and not in it’s fullness, I will be sharing more in the future, it is all confirmed in Scripture but can only be known, if we have eyes to see and ears to hear.1 Corinthians2:9-16

        Blog Post – http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2013/05/25/jesus-rescued-his-lost-sheep/

        Take Care dear Brother in The Lord – Christian Love from us both – Anne.

      • Blessings on you both you are such a blessing to me – Thanks Darrell

Leave a Reply

