How I Knew and Will Remember Whitney Houston

Darrell Creswell and Whitney Houston

She was an eighteen year old teenager when we first met. We were both recording for a debut album for a major record label and at the time, and I had no idea how her career would sky-rocket. That is until I heard her sing.

There were many stars there during the recording and video shoot of ”Stop the Madness”. Stop the Madness is an anti-drug music video that was recorded as the first ant-drug campaign. It was uniquely endorsed and supported by the Reagan administration in 1985. The song and video starred, New Edition, LaToya Jackson, Whitney Houston, David Hasselhoff, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Kim Fields, Herb Alpert, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Tim Feehan, Casey Kasem, John Matuzak, Michelle Lee, Toni Basil, Andre Crouch, Gerald McRaney, Jameson Parker, Nancy Reagan, and Lyle Alzado. We recorded at Hollywood Sound, and I remember being in awe of all the stars in attendance. You can watch it at this link   

I remember seeing Whitney standing in a corner with her mother Cissy Houston and Aunt Dionne Warwick. What caught my ear was as everyone was warming up their vocal cords, I could hear Whitney and her family singing gospel tunes that I knew. I was familiar with Dionne Warwick but did not know the other two. But hearing someone sing about Jesus caught my attention.

I walked over to listen for a while. It was at that time I heard her first singing Amazing Grace with her mom and aunt. I remember thinking “Wow what a voice”. When they finished the song, I introduced myself. She was a nice sweet young lady and she informed me that she had just finished recording her debut album, and I said, “me too”. Being a young cocky man in my early 20’s I responded, “We will see whose album does the best”. We both laughed. History will remember Whitney Houston as arguably the greatest voice of our generation. Laughably, my album was never released.

We were placed together side by side on the stage during all the recording, so I was able to spend a lot of time with her during the taping of the video. She was one of the nicest people that I ever had the privilege to meet. At the end of the shoot, there were two things I was sure of.

 One-Whitney Houston had the greatest voice that I had ever heard or ever would hear.

 Two-Whitney Houston definitely loved Jesus.

It saddened me to see her struggle with drug addiction most of her life, but there is no one that can play with drugs and not have their life devastated. I too for a few years had my life ravaged by drug addiction, as did many members of the “Stop the Madness” cast. Her lines in her solo in the song ring out in my ears, ”Drugs are causing pain, and everyone’s a loser in this deadly game that’s played”.

At this time we do not know the cause of her death but I have read the tabloids which say that she had gotten her life straightened out and she was recorded at a gala singing “Yes Jesus Loves Me” hours before her death. I heard Whitney tell me of her love for Jesus and no matter how hard the way became for her in life I know that never changed. I also know that the love of God in Christ Jesus never left her and I believe that He was always there to comfort her sorrow in her times of need. God was always there for me when I was addicted to drugs and I know that He was there for Whitney also.

I am very sad that her life has passed and I will always remember her powerful singing voice that gently spoke the words to me that day as she grasped my hand so that I would know what she knew-she said- “Jesus means everything to me”. That is how I will remember Whitney Houston.

Categories: Comfort, God, Grace, Hope, Jesus, Love, Troubles

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

18 replies

  1. Hello! My first visit, will visit you again. Seriously, I thoroughly enjoyed your post.
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. It is so sad, but a beautiful story anyway. thank you for sharing Darrell. i would have liked to open the video but it does not want to.

  3. Thank you so much for fixing the link Darrell. i just loved the video, the song, the message. It is scarry that people can be so taken in by drugs. i loved how celebs ( stupid word, but anyway) were used to say ‘stop the madness now’ throughout the video. More people should see this video!!
    Blessings to you and yours.

  4. She was a beautiful woman, and a beloved, beautiful child of our Most High God.

  5. This is comforting. I had been praying for her and I have hope that possibly she has been taken by victim witness program, based on scratches on wrist, blood drips on outside left calf visible as shown on tv news next day, a reliable source of man’s voice in her room. Intervention may have been done for long ongoing abuse and her toleration and defending loyalty to her abuser. Let’s hope I’m right and she’s still somewhere with us healing. An extremely blessed, glorious woman of God. No drug, demon or angel or man can separate us. AMEN

  6. I am sitting here crying..very touching story! I never respond to news feeds asking opinions and thoughts..but I did over what was being posted about her yesterday..if people would just reach out to people who are hurting , lost, and losing themselves (which is what drug addicts are)! They are just worried scared people! This world could turn out so differently!
    Instead of everybody looking down on and feeling superior to drug addicts! It just hurts my soul when peolpe do that! Drug addicts are in much need of love and help! Not run to the media with “she had either sweat or water in her hair she looked awful” I believe the media played a part in her death! A person that is already down shouldn’t be slammed some more for all of America to read! My heart goes out to her family and friends! I cried over all the horrible things I read about her yesterday! This world has sooo many unloving people in it! Thank you for sharing! I believe she is singing Jesus Loves Me with him now!

  7. She could sing like no other! I Will Always Love You, she sang like an Angel!

  8. Thank You Darrel! It is a very heartbreaking story!

  9. Thanks for sharing this story Darrell. We all have our struggles in life, and so did Whitney. It’s good to see people remember her for the good things she did and for the fact that she really did love God. Sure she struggled with addiction, but her voice, songs, and service to God during her good years will always be remembered in a positive light. You are blessed to have had the experience of being in her company and knowing the good in her–which is often tarnished by what we see in the media. No matter how much bad we could try to find in her re her latter years in life, her goodness will always shine through.

  10. Nippy… I will always love you.

  11. I personally believe that we will see her again!

  12. Thank you for sharing that about Whitney. In many ways her life exemplified the warfare that all Believers walk through to some degree or another; the vice may vary, but the age old battle is the same….thank God for His power and His love.

Leave a Reply

