Doubting Yourself is a Step in the Right Direction – Bible Truth in Time of Need

help my unbelief Jesus Mark 9 24There are times in this life when you feel like you are at the edge of the cliff, looking down deep into the abyss, your heart screaming on the inside for rescue, but there seems to be no relief, and no comfort. You doubt your very sanity as the weight of your burden has broken every escape, and collapsed all hope. It is at these times when you must realize that many times these dispensations of distress are divine appointments where God can intimately meet with you. He is the only place that you can find peace and strength. As you begin to doubt yourself, Christ can begin to work on your behalf directing you to Him as He rescues you from your desperation and doubt.

This world is filled with self-help videos and books that tell to you look inside, be positive, look to lift yourself up and discover your “inner strength” to win. In trying to will our self to victory, we come up with all kinds of schemes to survive – we workout insanely to upgrade our bodies, move to a better neighborhood, change marriages, friends and jobs – as ways to get ahead, instead of turning to God. But in none of these will you find your rescue. The truth is, as you are sucking in the dust from your barren fields of doubt, choking on hopelessness, trying to find God, you will come to realize that He who is your “outer strength”, has already discovered you.

As you are surrounded and battered by troubles, you will not be demoralized. When you don’t know what to do, be assured that God does  know what to do.  In the midst of all your struggle, God will never leave your side. While you’re going through the worst, you’re safe in the hands of the Best!

We all look at, and admire great men and women of faith; people who have great exploits and done great things in the name of God. Their strength came from Christ, who strengthened them. In the midst of your greatest doubt is a great place to realize that, even though you feel your faith is weak, it is the same God that you are turning to that every great man and woman of God derived their strength from also. That same strength is available to you. You must come to the realization as you doubt in yourself, that your faith is not based on your devotion to Him, but in His devotion to you.

When you are in your darkest hour, in your deepest void, in your greatest doubt, feeling like you can’t hang on to God, don’t worry – God is holding on to you.

Your deliverance will not come from thinking positive, being stronger, behaving better, or believing better, but by trusting in Christ who has already secured your hope and victory on the cross. Trust in your divine source that transcends your own power and ability. He is your “outer strength”, a safe fortress, and your inner peace–where all is still.

Doubt your “self” and trust in Jesus in the midst of the storm, when thunder, lightning, and fierce dark clouds are boiling over your life. Don’t be preoccupied and self-centered, placing your efforts on the inside of your “self” – turn to God, your “outer strength” when you are in doubt. Doubt yourself, but never doubt Him. He is far greater than what you see as your present reality – He has overcome the world.

John 16:33 I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.

2 Corinthians 4:16 Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.

John 16:33 I have overcome the world Jesus

Categories: Bible Verses and Scriptures, Body of Christ, Christianity, Comfort, FAITH, future, God, Hope, Jesus, Renewed Strength, Success, Troubles

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

25 replies

  1. “…The truth is, as you are sucking in the dust from your barren fields of doubt, choking on hopelessness, trying to find God…”

    Great word pictures of truth and I ought to know because I’ve been there. Thanks.

  2. Amen Darrell!! Thank you!! Truth…is so important, vital actually. Please come on over and visit me….just got done with a series recently about spiritual abuse, didn’t know if you had read it yet…….

    http://aroundeverycornerat.blogspot.com/2013/02/all-4-in-1-judging-spiritual-abuse.html

  3. Love this page, thank you !

  4. So powerful, a word we all are able to meditate on. Thanxx I rebloged on Godsson1

  5. I love your blogs. They are inspirational in my time of need. Thank you.

  6. AWESOME THANX FOR TEACHINGS OF THE WORD AND WONDERFUL INSPIRING WORDS BLESSINGS TO YOU!!

  7. Looks like we were on the same page this morning 🙂

  8. Your words in the first paragraph are a true depiction of my experience years ago.

    Owing to recent circumstances I was totally at the bottom, and I cried out to my loving Father in the very early hours of 29th May 1992. He led me to a few Scriptures which detailed exactly things that had happened in recent times, and then, as I read Psalm 27:10 ‘When my mother and my father forsake me, then THE LORD WILL GATHER ME UP” . . . He did exactly that. I could literally FEEL His arms around me. He showed me so much that early morning as He made me face many things, healing memories that had given me nightmares for about 40 years and assuring me recent circumstances were in His hands.

    Later in the morning, things happened and gradually everything that had been wrong became right. Fear departed, joy and peace returned.

    We serve an incredibly amazing God who knows our every need, desires the very best for us, and will always undertake for us when we submit to Him. He loves us with an everlasting love and will NEVER leave us, but IS all we need.

  9. Good word, Darrell. When we are at our end, God is there with hand extended, just waiting for us to ask for His help. And it is His grace that causes us to look up to Him and ask.

    Psalm 94:17-19 NTL

    17 Unless the Lord had helped me, I would soon have settled in the silence of the grave.
    18 I cried out, “I am slipping!” but Your unfailing love, O Lord, supported me.
    19 When doubts filled my mind, Your comfort gave me renewed hope and cheer.

  10. In my youth, I wandered aimlessly across this world until I was revealed the Truth: there is a loving Father who cares for us all, protects us, and defends us as long as we allow Him to act in our lives. This extraordinary finding led me to write the book Why I Believe in God in which I tell about the numerous benefits my family and I have had and experienced. Blessings!

Trackbacks

  1. How To Overcome Doubt | Why I Believe in God

Leave a Reply

