Where’s The Grace – Spiritual Hives – Humblebrag Theology

John 3:16 grace Jesus God love

In these turbulent times, I read about, hear and see dissension and strife within the Body of Christ. Believers arguing about this-and-that, carrying picket signs to show their point of view, arguing across the air waves, posting proclamations in blogs and spewing hatred and discord with their words. Gay marriage, abortion, gun rights, political jargon, prosperity, self-help and positive thinking are replacing Christ and the message of the cross from our pulpits. Grace never shows contempt or disregards the rights of others.

I am heartbroken and distressed by the idolatry of the gospel, incorporated and sculptured to meet the needs of the charlatans that would use it for their own misguided selfish purposes. I get spiritual hives from those who proclaim that they have a “new revelation” from God, and declare that they know the thoughts of God, and know precisely what God wants for you and me.

Using Jesus as a subtitle in any discussion, piece or dissertation does not make it Christian. Throwing the name of Jesus in once or twice in a narrative does not necessarily make it the gospel. If we use Grace as humblebrag theology, or as a  weapon to strike out against others, we have missed the point of His sacrifice completely.

Grace serves – Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms. 1 Peter 4:10

Our personal experience of the mercy of God cannot, and must not come from preachers, writers, prophets, or a watchman on the wall, but from the spirit of the living God beseeching us to seek Christ and Him crucified, buried and resurrected as the Author of our grace.

There are many in the Pseudo-Christian world that  would send out postcards proclaiming Grace in the name of Jesus Christ, saying, “wishing you were here” from a place they have never actually been themselves.

God is not our own personal lottery ticket for happy times and all the best that the world has to offer.  Grace does not give us all we’ve ever wanted, it gives us all we will ever need.  God was not made for us, we were made for God’s grace.

If we can simply agree on the pillars of our faith, in the embodiment of Christ’s grace; that He was born of a virgin, God in the flesh, died on the cross, resurrected on the 3rd day, and salvation by Him alone –  then we should be able to disagree with all the small stuff without dissension.

We all tend to think that our interpretation of the Scriptures is the correct way. The Bible calls for us to have sound doctrine, but not a perfect doctrine. If we really want to be honest , it is hard for any one of us to have the perfect interpretation of God’s Word due to our different views, biases, personal and political preferences, and theological beliefs. When feeding on the word of God to share with others, I think it prudent to eat the meat and leave out the bones. It is time for Christians to recognize the grace by which we are saved, and let it be that grace that binds us together as we proclaim grace and grace alone to a world that knows it not. Anything else is a waste of God’s time.

Grace needs to spread among us like the Ebola virus, a disease which can never be cured.

John 3:16 Every time we read it and understand it, our eyes should fill with tears. For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

The power, width, height and depth of God’s Grace  – We just don’t comprehend it.

Categories: Bible, Bible Verses and Scriptures, Body of Christ, Christ, Christianity, Cross, Forgiveness, God, God's Love, Grace, Jesus, Love, Salvation, Stories of Grace

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

48 replies

  1. I love this blog , Darrell – yes, let us get on with fulfilling Christ’s Commission without distractions – His grace is sufficient for us. This bears repeating on ChristianBlessings tomorrow with your concurrence, even as we need to unite against the enemy.

  2. AMEN!

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. My brother in Christ you have stated some really great facts in this article. I love it when you said, “God is not our own personal lottery ticket for happy times.” So true and it need to be stated often. Thank you for sharing. May God’s grace and mercy be will you in all you do in building up the Kingdom.

  4. It is the devil’s intent to always divide us and we play into his fiendish hands by denouncing our brothers and sisters in Christ and the strangest part about this is that we think we are doing it for God and helping all these deluded men and women to get it right. I once had a colleague who was sure I was headed for hell when he found out I believed in the Baptism of the Holy Spirit and the manifestation of tongues. You are so right – grace is what God has freely given, which we freely receive and what we must freely give. And may I just share one point – By grace, we receive from God what we need and by His grace too, we receive exceedingly abundantly over and above all that we can imagine or hope for.

  5. I really enjoyed this article and especially agree with your thought, “Grace never shows contempt or disregards the rights of others.” Just lately I read a Christian on her blog calling someone “stupid” for some of her proposals and I thought of Matthew 5:22, where Jesus gives serious thoughts about respect, “…whosoever shall say to his brother, Raca, shall be in danger of the council: but whosoever shall say, Thou fool, shall be in danger of hell fire.”

    It also grieves me to hear people “killing” their children all the time; I even wrote a blog post about that. You know the “If you do that your father’s going to kill you ” threat. Is this honest? I very much agree that we as Christians need to show respect for others and also our children.

  6. Bingo! I totally agree and pray it would turn around today. Thanks.

  7. I am a Christian through and through, but I have not always been so I know first hand the power of the grace of God our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ provides to us, oh how I do! Being that I was not always saved, I also know how that same grace the Lord gives can also be abused. We like to preach grace and that God loves us despite of our sins well I would also like to think that God loves us to much to want to leave us in that sin, in the same state that we have been in for years.
    The devils job is to divide us this is true and it is the devils job to keep us deceived even if it means to focus on other people and what they do instead of focusing on ourselves to find out of the actual problem is with me.
    By the grace of God I was saved and not in jail for drug trafficking. It was by God’s grace that saved me from my sexual addiction, temper, anger, and faulty thinking. It was also by His grace that allowed me to get it right time after time when I fell short of His will. But the real beauty of his grace was that it allowed me to examine myself and recognize everything God was showing me about myself the things He wanted me to change that was not like Him.
    This is what His grace means to me without abusing it. He didn’t allow me to use His grace as a crutch or a band aide to sugar coat my issues, he gave me just enough to help me realize that I needed to change. I never want to stay in the same place in God especially when He is moving me forward. There is a reason why after He told Lot’s wife not to look back and she did anyway. And that was, once God delivers us from the issues of our past and closes the door don’t look back and try to go through it again. It only happened to her, because each one of us has to make the decision to move forward in Jesus as God allows.
    So why do we focus more on what everyone else is doing in the church rather than what we should be doing? Unless we have done everything to completely examine ourselves the power of God is not completely working in us.
    Division? We have been divided for years, isn’t time that we all started coming together and really make the devil out for who he really is….a liar! We will not do it unless the church becomes one and we can’t become one if we are not all on the same page.

  8. Thank you for God’s awesome words. All I can say is AWESOME!!!!!

  9. Hi Darrell, I read this post earlier today and wanted to leave you a comment then, but my son needed me :). Anyhow, I just wanted to tell you thank you for writing this. The divisions make me so sad too because they become a distraction from sharing the message of God’s amazing love and grace. I definitely don’t understand the fullness of God’s grace, but I’m thankful for it and I want others to know about it too. Thanks for the blessing of your message! Hannah

  10. Yes, if we don’t agree on the milk, there is no reason to talk about ordering any meat. At the same time, we do not need to stay at the milk stage of spiritual life, either.
    Satan is also the father of lies. He isn’t just on the silver screen or on the TV, he can be found in the churches. There are churches that are spreading demonic lies that are doing more than simply causing dissension; they are allowing people to live in sin, thinking everything is A-OK. Does that sound good? Of course not. Keeping silent is not keeping the peace, it is collusion.

    This nation is not going down the tubes because Christians have stood strong and held their ground in this (once) Christian nation. No, the candles were hidden, the salt was locked up and our voices were silent. Contrary to that popular little saying, it’s NOT all good, and a lie must be confronted. Be bold.

  11. I am going to be re reading nd re re reading . Lots of goodness. Thank you

  12. This is so good on so many levels. “For if someone comes to you and preaches a Jesus other than the Jesus we preached, or if you receive a different spirit from the Spirit you received, or a different gospel from the one you accepted, you put up with it easily enough” (2 Cor. 11:4). This verse is incredibly relevant for the church today. We have got to stay on point. Thanks for helping the Lord’s people do that. There’s an urgency in your writings lately that shows the Lord’s care for His people. Blessings!

  13. As Ray Boltz says in his song…Thank you for giving to the Lord.. for your inspired messages touch my heart in so many ways that I can’t begin to say thank you enough. I am editing and fowarding much of this blog to my friends and prayer partners today and hope that we all catch this grace germ that has no cure.

  14. What very needed point. I have heard so many people saying God said this or God said that…that just doesn’t line up with His word. I think sometimes we take the word Christianity too lightly.

  15. While I still have unanswered questions and we continue to struggle with our grief, God has taught me so much through this journey. I am so thankful for that. We have all heard the old saying, “He lived a long, full life.” God has taught me through our precious daughter that age does not define the fullness of a life. So many of you who are reading this have lost loved ones who you thought would live beyond your years. It is unsettling, to say the very least, to lose someone who it seems should outlive you. Through our losing Anna, I have come to realize that God used Anna’s life beyond what I could have imagined. The brevity of her life did not determine her importance. God deemed her life as valuable, and because of that, Anna’s life had weight in this world. Her four pounds, 11.2 ounces had just as much weight as some 180-pound men have had in a span of 80 years. I can only pray that my Abby and Josiah will live such a full life–a life that impacts others, points people to the Savior, and helps people understand that we are only a breath away from the eternal life we have chosen.

  16. “Grace needs to spread…” Amen, AMEN!! God bless you Brother–love, sis Caddo

Trackbacks

  1. Where’s The Grace – Spiritual Hives – Humblebrag Theology | ChristianBlessings
  2. On Theology and Doctrine | Endtime Chaverim
  3. » THANK GOD FOR HIS GRACE & MERCY
  4. BABE IN CHRIST | THANK GOD FOR HIS GRACE & MERCY

Leave a Reply

