Graceology – A Study of Grace – Ocean, Snow and a Spring Rain

Grace and the ocean JesusGraceology isn’t a word that I could find in any dictionary, but it should be. The informal word, “ology” means the study of or branch of knowledge when attached to a root word. Graceology by my definition is simply the study of grace. One could write volumes of books without end on the subject of grace and never have its fill. To me the unending, unrestrained power of grace in its absolution, is its greatest form. The power of grace is free from ostentation; it is simplistic in its assimilation, yet full of grandeur in the magnificence of its absorption.

To my soul grace is like . . .

A quenching cold ice tea on a hot sultry afternoon

The smell in the air of a fresh spring rain

The feeling of the ocean hitting the shoreline, kissing my feet

The joy of holding a new-born child

The feeling of snow falling on my tongue

A cool breeze on a hot summer day

An umbrella in the rain

The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ redeems our past and gives us hope for a glorious future. The grace of God turns Imperfect to I’m perfect in Christ.

Without grace, I am a liar. Without grace I am self-absorbed, conceited, seeking my own recognition while putting my own needs above that of others. Without grace I am in this for myself.  Without grace I am nothing. Without grace I am human and nothing more.

With grace I am a child of the living God, heir to all eternity as the righteousness of God in Christ Jesus.

Because of the sacrifice of Christ, His blood by grace poured out for me – I am free. Free of the punishment I deserve from my misdeeds. By His grace He has provided for me everything I could possibly ever need. In grace my existence is entirely in Him; everything in the depths of heaven, everything on shallow planet earth.

It is in grace that we are assured that God has planned everything out for us. By grace in the personage of Christ we have a wonderful and glorious life, both here and in the world to come.

snow and grace

Categories: Christ, Christianity, FAITH, God, God's Love, Grace, Jesus, Joy, Love, Salvation, Thankful

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

30 replies

  1. Wow… and, GLORY!!!!

  2. Thank you for your message Darrell and how wonderful that because of God’s Grace we can claim His Truth in the Scriptuers below, we have His seed or Nature and the mind of Christ having put our flesh to death and been perfected in Love and because no temptation is greater than we can bear, we have been set free from the bondage of sin and are no longer in darkness.

    1 John 4:17-19 Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in Love; but perfect Love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in Love. We Love Him, because He first Loved us.

    Matthew 5:48 Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in Heaven is perfect.

    Philippians 3:14-16 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. Let us therefore, as many as be perfect, be thus minded: and if in any thing ye be otherwise minded, God shall reveal even this unto you. Nevertheless, where to we have already attained, let us walk by the same rule, let us mind the same thing.

    1John 3 : 9 No one who is Born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been Born of God.

    1 John 3: 1-11 ( 6-7 ) Whosoever abideth in Him sinneth not: whosoever sinneth hath not seen Him, neither known Him. Little children, let no man deceive you: he that doeth righteousness is righteous, even as He is righteous.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

    • Thank you Anne – His love is perfected in the application of grace in our lives. Thanks for sharing- In Christ Darrell

      • Yes I agree with you Darrell and His Love will be shown in our actions and words as you shared a few Posts ago.

        I wanted to say before that I love Graceology ……………… a great word and sums it up perfectly.

        I was wondering Darrell if you would mind me asking you some questions, they will get you thinking but I’m sure will not present a problem, at least I think not, anyway you don’t need to answer them unless you want to or even Post them, although others have, anyway let me know, and if ok I will just post them for you to have a look at.

        Christian Love – Anne

      • That would be fine Anne -:) Blessings Darrell

  3. Wonderful, amazing, eternal and infinite grace – glory to God. Praise His Name!
    Sharing with your concurrence Darrell on 4 August, 2013. Thank you.
    In His grace
    Evelyn

  4. Been a child of grace for many years now, but only recently have I realized just how amazing that grace really is. Graceology has to be one of the most crucial and rewarding chapters of the walk with Christ. Thank you for this thought, it will stay with me all day.

    • I love your blog – Surprised by Grace at http://sethteegarden.wordpress.com/. Thanks for stopping by and sharing Grace with me 🙂 In Christ Darrell

      • Thank you very much, that is an encouragement. I find my life totally changed since I feel I have really grasped the grace of God and its all-emcompasing power. Being raised in a church filled with legalism, rules, and standards, buried me so deep that grace was the only thing that could set me free. Now I want to live so close to Christ and honor Him in all that I do, not because of the rules that make me, but now its because of the grace that saves me every day.

      • Early in ministry I was very legalistic. It took the Lord performing a great work in me to grasp and understand the power of His grace – Like you, Since I finally grasped the essence of His grace,and it has engulfed my spirit and soul – I love the message of your blog – I will visit it regularly -you are doing a great work for the Lord – Darrell

  5. I have read and re-read this post several times. I need to hear the grace message again and again because I am so works oriented.

    You are a poet! My favorite line is “The power of grace is free from ostentation; it is simplistic in its assimilation, yet full of grandeur in the magnificence of its absorption.”

    Thank you, Darrell.

    • As a young minister I was bound by works and legalism . . It took the Lord a long time to help me understand the power of His grace – Since I finally grasped the essence of His grace, true freedom in Christ has engulfed my spirit and soul 🙂 Thanks for sharing – Darrell

  6. Thank you for liking my post, not because of that but because it led me to yours! Powerful fuel for the soul, thank you for what you do! God bless.

  7. Darrell, this is a beautiful post!

    Grace is freedom.
    It is joy unspeakable and full of glory.
    It is light in the darkness.

    Thank you.

  8. As promised Darrell and thank you for allowing me to share these questions with you, they are not all that I have but like the rest they are worth pondering on, so I thought I would share them with you and others. They are based on something I often hear which is…. ” We will sin till we die but it’s ok because we are forgiven even if not said some believe this.

    It’s your choice Darrell as I said before if you answer these questions or even Post them but thanks anyway for listening, I respect this very much in you and others who do too, how hurtful to be ignored, but then Darrell as a Pastor to many you would understand this, Jesus was ignored and was hated too.

    1. If we are to reckon ourselves dead to sin, should we continue saying that we can and do sin when we are in Christ Jesus? ( Romans 6:11) as a man thinks in his heart, so he does! and God tells us no temptation will be greater than we can bear……..

    2. If God asks us to be perfect as He is but not what the world thinks, do you think it’s impossible and if so does this mean that what He asks of us is not really attainable ? ( Matthew 5:48 ) (1 John 4:17-19 )

    3. If it is our Sin Nature that causes us to sin by polluting our spirit and we put it to death by The Spirit, ( Romans 8:13 ) ( Galatians5 ) does this mean we can no longer sin as the Scriptures tell us in (1John3:9)

    4. God asks us to walk as Jesus walked (1 John 2:4-6 ) and He walked in Love without sinning and when we are Born again of God’s seed or Nature, (1John3:9) and Jesus lives in us ? and He dose not choose to sin, so do we? (1Corinthians 2:16 )

    5. If we ask for God’s wisdom as He asks us to do, ( Proverbs 4:7 ) because in the flesh we all lack it, we were not born with it, so we are to seek after it, do we then doubt that we or others have received it and if we do, are we saying that God does not do what He says and so we are calling Him a liar ?(James 1: 4-6)

    Thank you again Darrell, see you soon, perhaps I will be perfected in Love by then (1 John 4:17-19 )

    Christian Love from both of us -Anne

  9. “The grace of God turns Imperfect to I’m perfect in Christ.” I LOVE grace!!!

    Great thoughts for today.

    \o/

  10. Refreshing! You have some of the most inspirational pieces.

Trackbacks

  1. Snatched Away | 4hisministryblog
  2. Graceology – A Study of Grace – Ocean, Snow and a Spring Rain | ChristianBlessings
  3. Amazing Marvelous Incredible Wonderful Immense Immeasurable Grace « Darrell Creswell
  4. GRAVITY OF GRACE | Graceology – A Study of Grace – Ocean, Snow and a Spring Rain

Leave a Reply

