Quicksand of Despair – Rescue from God – Inspirational Bible Verses

God will save you from the pit psalm 40 1 2The word mire is not used much in today’s vocabulary. It is however found in the Bible numerous times. It is often used in conjunction with clay to describe a situation in which we get stuck or are bogged down.

If you look in the Dictionary “mire” when describing life, means a situation of difficulty, distress, or despair from which it is hard to extricate oneself. It also means a mess, difficulty, plight, predicament, tight spot, trouble, quandary, or to find yourself in a pickle.

Psalm 40:1-2 I waited patiently for the LORD; He turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and mire; He set my feet on solid ground and gave me a firm place to stand.

To me mire is like quicksand. Sinking in quicksand has been a part of movie genre from Tarzan to the Never Ending Story. We have all seen it when the victim falls into a pit of quicksand, and the more they struggle the more they sink. Once they fall into the pit they are doomed unless they are rescued and someone pulls them out.

David is telling us in the Psalm that God will lift us out of the quicksand of our despair. When life’s troubles come upon us, many times we struggle and fight, sinking deeper and deeper into the quicksand of despair until we are helpless and hopeless. Many times we find ourselves buried so deep that we are barely able to keep our heads above the sand in the midst of all our problems.

We need not wait until we are neck-deep to call on God. When we find ourselves stuck in the pit of misery and despair we are to call upon God for our rescue. It is when we struggle and fight on our own that we find ourselves in danger of succumbing to the troubles that overtake us. We must learn to cry out to our God. He will hear our cries, and He will turn our failings into regeneration, our grief into joy, and our helplessness into hope.

We read in 1 Samuel 17 that the battle belongs to the Lord. So quit struggling and cry out to God. Let your heart shout with joy in a God who will always rescue you from life’s quicksand and set your feet on solid ground. He will make all your failures regenerative. If you are down and broken, He is the God of risings again. He will take all your life’s sorrow and pain, absorb them in His blood and shower you with His compassion. He will freshen your world with spiritual dew, and renew your tattered, broken heart with His spirit. God will restore you and give you a life anew.

Isaiah 41:10 “Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, and I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”

Let God’s right hand rescue you from life’s quicksand!



Categories: Bible Verses and Scriptures, Christianity, Comfort, Compassion, future, God, Hope, Life, Renewed Strength, Restoration, Success, Troubles

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

38 replies

  1. Darrell, I feel certain this was for me today. Thank you for reminding me that God doesn’t desire to see us in the quicksand, but to set our feet on the firm foundation. Blessings

  2. Thank you for a timely reminder on a word that isn’t used very much but is still as appropriate as ever! I read something interesting about quicksand not long ago which has stuck in my head: we are pulled further down as long as we continue to fight against, however, if we stretch out flat and stop fighting, the quicksand will push you to the top!

  3. I don’t think “thank you ” can describe how grateful I am today for your message Darrell , it’s so good to be reminded of God’s Faithfulness.

    I’m trying to write but I’m crying in remembrance of a time when my life was in a very big mess, I walked around in a daze of despair not knowing what to do, I called out to God…. please help me, I’m in a big mess and He said in my heart … give thanks for the mess, I said how can I give thanks for this mess, my heart is breaking…The Lord said to me… because I’m the only one who can clean it up and I will not leave you to battle alone, the battle is mine, I Love you me precious one, do not despair. No one had ever called me precious before and meant it.

    Each day I see His promise being fulfilled, God is Faithful, He never let’s us down, I have told Him many times if I know nothing else Lord I’m sure beyond any doubt that I Love You and wonderfully, He Loved me first, how can I understand this when I hurt Him so much but He does.

    Darrell I’m greatly blessed by your Ministry, we are all called and equipped to do the good works God has prepared in advance for us to do and we are empowered to do them.

    For some it will be to uplift The Body of Christ, some will meet their deeper needs, with compassion and Godly understanding, some will warn and correct error, as they help others prepare for battle, to take up the shield of Faith with God’s Truth, others will be equipped to reach out and offer practical help, others to offer protection from Satan’s attacks with words of wisdom etc whatever we are called to do, it is in Love and for Love as we are empowered by The Holy Spirit and lead by The Lord and in all we do, we give thanks that we do not walk alone.He is always with us (Isaiah 41:10)

    As Jesus body we are His Arms, Hands, Feet and Voice, to reach out first to those in the Body of Christ and then to a hurting World.

    THANK you Darrell for Loving us in the Lord, we Love you too – Anne

  4. Reblogged this on Freedomborn … Aussie Christian Focus and commented:
    Thank you Darrell for your Ministry to those who are lost and hurting , who feel that they are alone in a world that leaves them empty and in despair…. God bless you all greatly….. Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  5. Such a refreshing and encouraging post.. Thanks

  6. Amen, I needed to read this as I have been praying in the midst of a lift situation and asking for God’s Hand to reach to my family in Christ and Body
    God Bless you .

  7. “So quit struggling and cry out to God.” Amen! Thank you, Jesus🙂

  8. I sent my 8 year old niece this song,

    Just after that I read your blog Darrell. Not a coincidence but someone at ChristianBlessings will be needing to read this timely blog on Sunday November 24, 2013, with your approval.

    Thank you for sharing your gift of encouragement.

    Blessings
    Evelyn

  9. I liked the the analogy of mire Darrell , its so true isn’t it ? I do find though , its a self inflicted mire we put ourselves into sometimes . Thankfully as you say, we know who to call to pull us out, well done .

    Ron

  10. Hi,
    I came across this on a reblog,it’s a great reminder of God’s faithfulness.

    However what do you do when you have looked to him and shouted from the very beginning,and all you get are momentary “pull outs” so you catch your breath then it’s back into the quicksand.

    What do you do when the more you call out for help the more you sink.

    It is easy to say “hang in there”but after 12 rounds you start to feel the effects.

    So what do you do as you sink,sinking to rise no more.

  11. Thanks. I truly needed to hear this today.🙂

    \o/

  12. Amen and praise God! I”m so glad that He is my defender. I need not try and go through this world alone.

    Very encouraging post. Thank you.

  13. Text: Psalm 40:1,2 I waited patiently for the Lord to help me, and he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and the mire. He set my feet on solid ground and steadied me as I walked along.

  14. Amen…it was once told and believe to be true that if we as people would pray always and about everything even if it seems like it is a good thing and you find yourself thinking, why would I need to pray about this……
    If we would do these things we might not find ourselves struggling in the quicksand as often. Not SAYING THAT I ALWAYS OR EVEN NEARLY enough do what I just said. BUT, when I do I find it to be true. Love to all!

  15. Hi there. I have backslidden and fallen so bad that I cannot get up on my own strenght because my vessle is severely damaged to the point that I have a huge soul wound going right down through me and all my strenght failed me and I suffer alot and it takes a long time to heal.. I am extremely whitereed away in my soul. I cannot live a normal life. Many days have I endured this but God kept me alive. As far as crying out, have I cried out but it seems I cannot get a quick healing. Is this also a process am I crying out loud enough. Should I keeo calling out harder? I have a tendency to wait and allow him to try and mold me back togther. I am in a dangerous place.

Trackbacks

  1. Quicksand of Despair – Rescue from God – Inspirational Bible Verses | ChristianBlessings
  2. Quicksand of Despair – Rescue from God – Inspirational Bible Verses | A disciple's study

Leave a Reply

