With God All Things Are Possible

Quite a few years ago, I was working as a youth pastor for Pastor Tommy Barnett. I had a difficult task that I was dealing with, and I went to Pastor Barnett for advice. I remember his words to me like it was yesterday. I was complaining that I couldn’t do it. He said to me, Darrell,”If you can hear the inaudible, think the unthinkable, see the invisible, believe the incredible, you can do the impossible”. Those words have stuck with me my whole life, and Pastor Barnett’s ministry has been defined by that very statement, what he has accomplished for the Kingdom many considered impossible. The word Impossible……..

God’s word itself reflects the truth of that statement in Luke 1:37 ……For with God nothing will be impossible.

In this passage the angel Gabriel is talking to Mary, the mother of Jesus. Gabriel is telling her that God was going to perform a miracle and do the impossible. In our own earthly logic, it is impossible for a virgin to give birth. Yet that is what Gabriel told Mary was going to happen, and that is exactly what did happen.

When God says it, it is never impossible, it is never absurd. When God says it, it is not out of the ordinary. With God the impossible is the ordinary. When is the last time you heard God speaking to you about your life, wanting the impossible to take place in your life? Are you like Mary and ask how can this be possible as you look at your situation through your eyes? Do you hear what He is saying to you and believe it is possible, but the sheer magnitude of the miracle happening in your life makes you afraid of the impossible actually taking place?

He said I am the same today, yesterday and forever. And believe me today, God still does performs the impossible! We all like to say, yes I believe God can do it, or we say yes I am trusting God for a miracle. We want to acknowledge to ourselves and our friends that God is a mighty God and can do whatever He wills. But then at the same, we always throw in a safety clause to cover our own “faith”. We say things like, “I just don’t know if that His will for me, or “I am not sure if that is what God wants for my life”.

In Mark 9:24 a man cries out to Jesus and said,” I believe Lord, help my unbelief”.  If we do not believe that God can perform miracles in our life, if we do not really believe that he wants to do the impossible in our lives, if we do not expect miracles in our lives, then our beliefs are no different from an atheist because they do not believe or expect anything from God either.

Do you have something in your life that you feel like is impossible? Do you feel like there is no way it can come to pass? If you’re normal, as we all are, the answer is sometimes yes.

I’d like you to take a moment and write down the things in your life that you feel are simply impossible. They might be:

  •  “I know it’s impossible to get another job in this bad economy.”
  • “I know it’s impossible to get married now that I’m over 40.”
  • “I know it’s impossible to hold on to my house with the mortgage as high as it is.”
  • “I know it’s impossible that things can get any better.”
  • “I know it’s impossible that I’ll ever get together with that person I really want to be with.”
  • “I know it’s impossible that I’ll ever make it in this world.”
  • “I know it’s impossible to ever find anyone to share my life with.”
  • “I know it’s impossible that I can ever feel better.”

Now that you’ve made your list of things you feel are impossible, I’d like you to take that piece of paper, and throw it into the trash. Why? Because it’s useless, it is the human perspective. It doesn’t take into account the amazing things God can do, wants to do and will do in your life.

Now I’d like you to take a moment again, and write down the things in your life that are possible with God according to His word. They might be:

  •  “I know it’s possible with God to get another job in this bad economy.”
  • “I know it’s possible with God get married now that I’m over 40.”
  • “I know it’s possible with God to hold on to my house with the mortgage as high as it is.”
  • “I know it’s possible with God that things can get any better.”
  • “I know it’s possible with God that I’ll get together with that person I really want to be with.”
  • “I know it’s possible with God that I’ll make it in this world.”
  • “I know it’s possible with God to find someone to share my life with.”
  • “I know it’s possible with God to feel better.”

Matthew 19:26…… But Jesus said unto them, with men this is impossible; but with God all things are possible. This is the truth of God’s word, with God ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE.

Our Heavenly Father through His Son Christ Jesus, desired to bring salvation to all of mankind.  He knew that this miracle of all miracles would take place when He sent Gabriel to talk to Mary. At first Mary indicated to Gabriel that what He was saying was going to happen was impossible. But once she heard the angel Gabriel tell her that the hand of God was upon her and the impossible was going to take place, she believed God was going to perform a miracle, the impossible was going to take place in her life… She began to prepare herself and adjusted her life for the miracle that was about to take place through her.

The difference between a secular person and someone who is born-again is the divine. The difference between the Body of Christ and a secular social club or group is the miracle of the Christian experience. There are those in this world who can imitate and duplicate the morality of a Christian, but let me tell you in no uncertain terms, no one, at no time, at no place, and in no situation will ever duplicate the miracle of the birth of the Son of God, and none other than He and He alone, can perform that miracle in your life of redeeming you by His blood. There is only one, He is that miracle. He is Jesus Christ.

Do you believe that nothing is impossible for God? If you do, and you believe, but there is a hesitation in your belief, cry out like the man in Mark 9:24, Lord help my unbelief….. Luke 1:37… For with God nothing will be impossible.  This can become the reality in your life as God works a miracle on your behalf. And I truly believe that Pastor Barnett’s words ”If you can hear the inaudible, think the unthinkable, see the invisible, believe the incredible, you can do the impossible”, in accordance with God’s word can become your reality in Christ Jesus.



Categories: future, Grace, Relationship, Renewed Strength, Restoration, Supernatural, Troubles

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. Yes I believe all things are possible with GOD; and that GOD figured out a way for He/r only begotten Son and Lunatic Daughter, Satan to live happily forever after the Fall. But if we know Jesus Christ at all; Wouldnt he save the Best for the Last just as He did with the 1st wedding in Cana and told His mom; “It is not my time YET.

    I think many of US missed the fact that as Jesus slept on the cross and that precious blood and water fell from his side to the ground, and dust of the earth below, that GOD did the same thing SHe did with Adam in the beginning? Remove that bone inside of Him and make a Wife presentable for Him aka the King of King and Lord of Lords, even if that Angelic Beautiful & Mysterious Temptress is Satan now risen, reborn and in the flesh of a regular woman.

  2. So true it happend in my life God is good

  3. Dear Marsha Christ,

    I am sorry but I disagree with your commentary! -How could our Lord God Almighty be addressed by us believers in terms as ‘Heavenly Father’, ‘Abba, Father’, ‘Lord of lords’, ‘King of kings’; if God was a ‘She’ instead of ‘He’ as you suggested in your post above? Do you forget that in Genesis, God after finished creating everything that exist, He proceeded to create man saying; Let’s now create man to our likeness and that man indeed he’s name was Adam! Following to this he created Eden and gave authority to Adam to name everything He has created to rule over it; Eve was not created untill God observed that Adam was missing something therefore God made Adam fall into a deep sleep to take his rib to make Eve! I personally believe that, It certainly was destined to happen exactly as God intended to be!

  4. WITH GOD ALL THINGS WHICH ARE NOT POSSIBLE WILL COME TO ALIVE IN JESUS NAME.THIS WONDERFUL MESSAGE BRINGS TO AN ENLIGHTENMENT IN OUR LIFE.OUR DAYS OF ALWAYS STRUGGLING,MEASURING THE WORLD’S ECONOMY,DETERMINATION ON OUR OWN SELFISHNESS MAKES US A LOSER.OUR DESIRES MANIFESTS IN US TRIBULATIONS AND TURMOILS.
    BUT THERE IS ONE POWER, THAT IS GOD’S POWER WHICH WORKS AT THE FRONT OF EVERYONE WHO ALWAYS PUT GOD AT THE FRONTLINE.HIS PRESENCE WILL GO BEFORE US TO MAKE CROOK PATHS STRAIGHTENED.WITH MIGHTY STRENGTH IN GOD,WALKING WITH JESUS WE WILL DEFINATELY BE VICTORIOUS.AMEN

  5. Lord Jesus, help me to make the impossibles to be possible for the sake of the nonbelivers

  6. Thanks, quite nice post.

  7. test your faith Darrell ,Matthew 16:28 of the king james bible you believe all things are possible with God also do you believe that Elisha and Elijah were taken up to heaven alive and returning back to Jerusalem in the time of tribulation.

Leave a comment