Controlling Your Future – Determining Your Destiny – Inspirational Bible Verses

walk away from God rain of blessings

Do not let the things that do not control your future, determine your destiny.

It seems that we all have the perfect plan until something bad happens.

Life moves swiftly, and as the older I get it seems to move at warp speed. It seems like only yesterday that my first child was born. The year was 1980 and the events of that year seem like only a moment away in time. 1980 ushered away the presidency of Jimmy Carter as the Reagan administration was elected into office. In 1980 CNN (Cable News Network) was launched, and John Lennon was murdered outside his home in New York. At that time I thought I had my future all planned and scripted out, but the ways of God are not the ways of man.

In my youth, I had the misconception that if I wanted to accomplish something in my life, I would just will it done, and with strength and determination, it would be done. At 23 years old I left full-time ministry in 1982, after the birth of my second child to pursue my own dreams and not God’s. I found myself quickly abandoning the pursuit of the hereafter and began chasing the here-and-now. I centered my life on the things that benefited me, leaving God completely out of my life. It took me over 15 years to find my way back to the foot of the cross so that I might once again have a future filled with hope and promise. I found out that when you walk away from God, He doesn’t let you leave without love.

Psalm 39:5 – You have made my life no longer than the width of my hand. My entire lifetime is just a moment to you; at best, each of our lives is but a breath.

When we step away from the design of God for our lives, our own vanity takes over and we let the things that do not decide our future, shape our destiny. In our sin we will deprive ourselves of all that is good, becoming ignorant to that which is divine as we are deceived by the enemy. As we allow ourselves to be deceived we will become unstable in all our ways as our own vanity seals our fate. Our own strength, beauty and aspirations will become the focus of all our energies, changing the things that are truly important in our lives.

Our own plans and designs are uncontrollable as the air itself. It is only within the plans of God that our destiny can be sealed with the hope of promise by the blood of Jesus Christ. We cannot let our potential be lost with reckless behavior, turning a deaf ear to the voice of God.

We must take every thought into captivity and let grace take control of our minds, controlling the things that we can’t which will lead to our demise. God in his mercy knows that we will struggle as we walk, so He gives us warning not to disobey Him or reject Him. In His mercy He designed our future to never fail as long as it is grounded in Christ.

The promises and judgments of God are predicated with an “if”. The “if’ always up to us. All we have to do is trust and obey.

If you do not obey Me, and if you reject My decrees, and if your heart despises My Word, calamity will fall upon you. Leviticus 26:14-16

If you do not obey Me, then I will punish you and I will also break down your pride. Leviticus 26:18-19

Thankfully we serve a forgiving God that served up a lifetime of forgiveness by the gift at Calvary that bids us to come to him with a humble heart and He promises us that we will find the grace we need to carry on with the purpose that He has planned for our lives.

If you walk in My ways, then I shall give you rains of blessings and I will turn toward you and make you fruitful and multiply your life and I will confirm My promises to you. Leviticus 26:3-4,9

Allow the grace of God to define your future, determining your destiny.

Related Article –  http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/22-inspirational-bible-verses/



Categories: Bible Verses and Scriptures, Christ, Christianity, Comfort, Cross, Dreams, future, God, God's Love, Grace, Hope, Jesus, Life, Love, Repentance, Restoration, Salvation, Success

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

29 replies

  1. I allow the grace of God. Amen.

  2. The Word is so true! Thanks Darrell for this awesome post!

  3. Good thoughts today. I’m glad I stopped by and ready your blog post. My life story is one of humility — and each painful lesson God smiles. Not in the pain, but what I’m learning from it. I’m drawing closer to Him.

  4. “If you walk in My ways, then I shall give you rains of blessings and I will turn toward you and make you fruitful and multiply your life and I will confirm My promises to you.” Leviticus 26:3-4,9

    What a wonderful gem in the scriptures!! Thank you, Darrell. God bless you ~Zoey

  5. Darrell, this is a very timely and precious word for teens and the not so young who can forestall all the pain and sorrow of a life without God if only they will obey the Word of God and return to Him.
    I would like to share this truth with the Teens and other readers on my blog with your permission. Your testimony truly reflects the Love that will not let you go.

    Thanks and God bless
    Evelyn

  6. Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    If you do not obey Me, then I will punish you and I will also break down your pride. Leviticus 26:18-19

    There is no contradiction with these two Scriptures when read in context with other Scripture and with understanding. God does not say one thing and later change His mind, He is the same Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow,.

    Lamentations 3:39 says: God does not command evil and good.

    God is Love and can do no evil, we were created in His likeness but when we do evil we pollute the good in us.

    Good and evil cannot co-exist and as you said Darrell, when we sin we separate ourselves from God and His blessings and provision and so we reap what we sow, God does not hear our prayers and so we suffer without respite, our choice not God’s. Evil brings evil and good brings good.

    John 9:31 Now we know that God heareth not sinners: but if any man be a worshipper of God and doeth His will, him He heareth.

    Jeremiah 31:30 But every one shall die for his own iniquity: every man that eateth the sour grape, his teeth shall be set on edge.

    Proverbs 11:19-20 As righteousness tendeth to life: so he that pursueth evil pursueth it to his own death. They that are of a froward heart are abomination to the Lord but such as are upright in their way are His delight.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  7. God bless you 4 this. Thank you

  8. YOU ARE MY GREATEST BLESSING! ❤ :-*
    FOREVER YOURS,
    ~ GRACiE

  9. Amen Darrell, all GOD asks from us is to obey. Thank you for the message. Blessings to you and Gracie.

  10. Great article Darrell. Much needed in this era of “me-ism”. Evelyn hit it right on the head, I agree. 🙂

    Would you please contact me? I have a very brief question for you. I would appreciate it, I know you are busy with all you do.

    theolivebranchreport@live.com

    Blessings as always Darrell
    Greg

  11. Thank you for this post. I left for a year and it was and still is the worst year of my life! I thank God for His love; because remove it, and I’ll still be Satan’s funbox.

    God bless you.

  12. Thank you Pastor this great testimony and powerful teaching from God. All glory to God!

Trackbacks

  1. Controlling Your Future – Determining Your Destiny – Inspirational Bible Verses | ChristianBlessings

Leave a comment