Understanding Bible Truths – The God Verse – Who is God

A look at Exodus 3:14

There is a question asked in the Bible that is only asked one time and found in only one book. I call it the God verse. The reason I call it the God verse is because it is the only time in scripture that a man directly asks God the Father His name. He replies with an answer that it all-encompassing.

There is a dialog between God and Moses in Exodus. Moses has just heard God speaking to Him from a burning bush, so he is a little rattled to say the least. God is telling him to go to Egypt and he has no courage to do so. First he asks of God, “who am I”. Basically Moses is saying, I am nobody, I cannot do what you are asking. God tells him not to worry because He will be with him.

Secondly Moses asks God “Who are you and what is your name”? God tells Moses in no uncertain terms who He is and by what name He is to be called.

Exodus 3:14 – And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM

God says here of His ineffable name “I AM WHO AM”. The truth contained here in this “God verse” is that He alone is.

Exodus 3:14 I Am that I Am

He is the one and only true God, He is the Being of beings, for now and all time: the past, present, and all eternity to come. The meaning here is, not only I am what I am now – I am what I have been, and I am what I shall be. I am who I Am who I Am. He is the fullness of perfection, without beginning and without end. All creation came from Him, and He alone is His very being, and He is everything that He is. The name of God is infinitely above everything that we can speak with our tongues or can understand with our minds.

God is the Creator of all that exists, and He has no creator. He is not dependent on anyone or anything to exist. He exists apart from any dependence on anything or anyone. Whatever He has been, He will continue to be, and He will be forever. James tells us that He is the Father of heavenly gifts with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.

God tells us who He is in Isaiah 43 –I am the God who made you in the first place, I am He who created and formed you. Don’t be afraid, I’ve redeemed you.  I’ve called your name, and you’re mine. When you’re in over your head, I’ll be there with you. When you’re in rough waters, you will not go down – the waters will not overcome you.  When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. When you’re between a rock and a hard place, it won’t be a dead end—because I am God, your personal God, the Holy One, your Savior.

John 8:58, Jesus said to them: “Timeless truth I speak to you: Before Abraham would exist, I AM (THE LIVING GOD). What our Lord is saying here is I Am from the beginning to all eternity. He has existed before all time. Jesus is our Redeemer and our Savior. He created all things out of nothing. He is the great I AM. Our covenant of grace washed in His blood was made by Him. In Christ we have the promise and assurance of blessings, as He is our God.  He had a glory with his Father before the world as we know it was created; He is the Son of God, He is equal to, and part of the same nature with God. From everlasting to everlasting He is God. He is the same today, yesterday, and forever.

Christ our Redeemer is the Great I Am.

Exodus 3:15b

This is my name forever, the name by which I am to be remembered from generation to generation.

Exodus 3:14 I Am who I Am

Related articles



Categories: God, Jesus

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

27 replies

  1. Amen and amen!!
    i love the saying Being of all beings! just about says it all!!
    Shalom to you and yours Darrell.

  2. What I really love about the name, I Am, is that it is always present tense.

  3. Amen Bro. Darrell, I’m reminded of the scriptures in the book of John where John had been put in prison…. Jesus had come into town and John heard about it…He told his disciples to go inquire of Jesus and ask Him if He was the Lord or if they should wait for another. He told John’s disciples to go tell John that it was the Great I AM…..Like the songs says I’m glad I know who Jesus is….I’m glad I know who Jesus is…..He’s more than just a story…..He’ll be the theme in glory…..I’m glad I know who Jesus is.

  4. I find it humbling that God can tell us Who He is in two short words…yet the profound impact of those two words echoes from the beginning of time to eternity! That’s how BIG our God was, is, and always will be!!!

    Thank you for your post Darrell 🙂

  5. Excellent post, Darrell! I agree with this wholeheartedly, and I know without doubt that God is so much more than our minds can begin to comprehend. He occasionally blesses me with the most finite bits of knowledge, and I am amazed at it. And, the more He reveals to me, the more I want to know.
    I also believe that we are who and what we are because of all that we have seen, heard, done, and said. We are who we are at this very moment in time, because this is who and what we are meant to be. And He knew it long ago!

  6. I just came across your blog Darrell after seeing that you had visited mine~I will definitely be back to read some more! 🙂

    I love that God responds to Moses with, I AM WHO I AM…when I first came across this years ago my first thought was that this wasn’t even gramamatically correct…but that is precisely the point isn’t it!

    I AM is….

    I Am is my present reality and my only home of freedom and victory…and as I journey with my Lord I am still learning that to remain in Him is to let the Great I Am be!

    Blessings to you Darrell.
    Connie
    (aka Tamarshope)

  7. It pays to know your God by Name, doesn’t it? 🙂

  8. Yes it does… Blessings Darrell

Trackbacks

  1. [English] Holy – Summary. | Miserere mei, Deus.
  2. Understanding Bible Truths – The God Verse – Who is God | Inspirational Christian Blogs
  3. Inspirational Bible Verse – A Child of God – We Cry Abba Father « Darrell Creswell's Blog
  4. Exodus 3:14-15 = pi π (π7π^7 / YHWH) | Cogito Ergo Sum

Leave a comment