The Most Feared Verse in The Bible – Judgement Day – Inspirational Verses

judgment day - Matthew 7:23The Bible is full of verses that can bring joy, comfort or fear; it all depends on the perspective of the reader. There is a verse that used to cause me considerable discomfort. I used to wonder if it was talking about me, and if it was – how would I know? Jesus talks about people standing before the Heavenly Judge without fear or humility. They are so self-absorbed in their own conceit they even brag about how great they are before Almighty God. They have no idea of their own sins.

There are many in this world that falsely create their own ideology of what they believe makes up a Christian. Many of these beliefs are self-serving and contrary to the Gospel. As a result there are many that attach themselves to the name of Jesus Christ while denying the simplicity of salvation and the power of His grace.

My grandfather told me that if you tell a lie long enough you will begin to believe it yourself. I believe that this will be the case with many who stand before Christ at Judgment. I guess the greatest irony to those that have betrayed the grace of Christ to fit their own agendas, is that they will be allowed by God to keep their braggart ways and sense of self-pride right up until the moment that they are judged.

Matthew 7:21-23 “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name performed many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you – Away from me, you evildoers.

I used to read the words in the 23rd verse, and used to be fearful that I somehow would not see if I were estranged from God even though I was serving Him. I was afraid that the words “depart from me, I never knew you” might pertain to me. As I grew and matured in the Lord, He showed me that those who will speak those words standing before Christ will have lived a life consumed by serving a pseudo-grace, created by their own imaginations to fit their own selfish needs. Those that don’t get it now, sure won’t get it then, even standing before God they will brag to Him about all they have done in His name. I can’t imagine anyone standing before God and telling him all the great things that have done – unimaginable! But Jesus said that they will.

I realize that if I were standing before God, I would be afraid, confident in His grace but still fearful; after all being in the presence of God is unfathomable to imagine. I no longer have to fear that I will “miss the boat” as I have humbled myself before the throne of grace, thankful for His mercy. It is not about doing great exploits, casting out demons or performing miracles – it’s all about grace. The only thing great about any one of us is Christ in us.

If one ever finds themselves bragging about their great exploits in Christ, marveling and telling others all the great things that have done in Christ’s name, Matthew 7:23 should serve as their reminder that those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted. It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the Living God. Hebrews 10:31

Related Article –  http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/22-inspirational-bible-verses/



Categories: Bible, Bible Verses and Scriptures, Christ, Christianity, future, God, Grace, Heaven, Jesus, Salvation, Thankful

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

34 replies

  1. Amen brother well said. It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the Living God.
    God bless you Darrell.
    Greg

    • God bless you too Greg – Thanks for taking the time to stop by – IN Christ, Darrell

      • JOHN DOE AND HIS JUDGMENT?-BY STEVE FINNELL
        Have men been given the authority to judge John Doe? Is John Doe’s eternal destiny the responsibility of man’s judgment? Some believe they have that authority.

        1. John Doe was a good man, he loved his family, was faithful to his wife, never mistreated his children, and never took the first drink of alcohol. John gave money to the poor and visited the sick. John never confessed Jesus as Lord and Savior. John Doe was an unbeliever. Men have made the judgment that he will go to heaven because he was a good man.

        Ephesians 2:8:9 For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; 9 not as a result of works, so that no one may boast.
        John 8:24 ‘Therefore I said to you that you will die in your sins; for unless you believe that I am He you will die in yours sins.

        Is it right to pass judgment on John Doe and send him to heaven? No it is not!

        2. John Doe confessed Jesus as Lord and Savior on his deathbed, however, he did not have time to be baptized in water. Men say, John is in heaven because he ran out of time.

        Acts 2:38 Peter said to them, “Repent, and each of you be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins; and you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.

        Have men been given the power to determine that John Doe will be in heaven even though he failed to meet God’s requirements for the forgiveness of his sins? Should men pass judgment on John Doe and send him to heaven? No they should not.

        3. John Doe became a Christian forty years ago, however, for the last thirty years John has been an unrepentant fornicator, a drunkard, a homosexual, and a thief. Men say, John died without repenting of those sins and is now in heaven. They say, he is in heaven because he was saved and once saved always saved.

        1 Corinthians 6:9-10 Or do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived; neither fornicators….nor homosexuals, 10 nor thieves….nor drunkards…will inherit the the kingdom of God.

        Do men have jurisdiction over the entrance to the kingdom of God? Can men pass judgment on unrepentant sinners, like John Doe, and send them to heaven? No they cannot.

        CAN MEN PASS JUDGMENT ON THE JOHN DOES OF THIS WORLD AND SEND THEM TO HEAVEN?

        Proverbs 16:25 There is a way which seems right to a man, but its end is the way of death.

        YOU ARE INVITED TO FOLLOW MY BLOG. http://steve-finnell.blogspot.com

  2. Yes.His grace and mercies is what I am made of.

  3. Great post and reminder that we will stand before God on Judgement day. “It is not about doing great exploits, casting out demons or performing miracles – it’s all about grace. The only thing great about any one of us is Christ in us.” Amen!

  4. Darrell, a timely reminder to review the basis of our personal salvation. How will be stand on Judgment Day – only washed in the blood of the Lamb. Posting your blog on CB Sunday 30 March 2014 with your concurrence. Thanks.
    In Christ
    Evelyn

  5. Thank you Darrell for the true words of our Lord. You know I am not afraid to die for I know I will be with Him, I am afraid I have disappointed him and I just do not want to see the hurt in his face. As for living in this old world and with Satan nipping at our heels I can just say we/I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.
    God bless. Jim a brother in Christ.

  6. You bring up a great point, Darrell. This is probably the verse I’ve heard people be troubled more about too. I’ve been troubled by it myself in the past when I saw God like an orphan. What I’ve landed on here is that the key is knowing Him. Eternal life is knowing the Father through Christ (John 17:3). Nothing else matters by comparison. That’s why He came for us in the first place. For that Divine Fellowship. So, standing before Him on Judgment Day should be like standing before a familiar friend who we’ve travelled with and known for a long time. Yes, there’s fear in His awesome splendor and majesty, but more overwhelming than that is the love and grace that we’ve known that will overshadow everything else on that day.

  7. Awesome to see someone preaching the truth. Not many left or bold enough to step out just makes my day. Fyi Bro its a honor to be your brother. God bless.

  8. I used to have this same fear. I think it’s a common one satan uses on God’s children. It can keep us immovable and consume our time and energy.

    As I’ve matured in Christ, I no longer struggle with this doubt. This isn’t an area satan can get to me, but he’s full of tricks and deceptions. Thankfully our God is bigger!

  9. Amen. One hundred amens! Thanks Darrell.

  10. Darrell, I liked the post. Its a reminder about what is really at stake in our lives and our relationship with God. It also reminded me of some of our favorite “tele evangelists” who live in 12,000 sq ft homes, drive a rolls royce, own private jets and are happy to take ten bucks off of some worshiper who is having trouble paying her gas bill. I wonder how they end up – I wouldn’t want to be anywhere near them when they plea their case to the Almighty One.

  11. This is an excellent post, and “spot on” as I see this verse. It is like the Pharisees who paraded their deeds before men, with no love in their hearts for God. As the Savior says in Matthew, “they have received their reward in full.”

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts here…

    Steve Pejay

  12. Where do you think the judgment on the last day will take place?

  13. Actually Jesus is pretty clear in Matthew 25:36-44 about what judgment day will look like -see http://judgmentday.info

Trackbacks

  1. The Most Feared Verse in The Bible – Judgement Day – Inspirational Verses | ChristianBlessings

Leave a Reply

