Amazing Grace- God’s Love- Christ Died for Us

Romans 5:8 But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Amazing Grace

how sweet the sound

That saved a wretch like me

I once was lost but now am found

Was blind, but now, I see.

The Bible is full of examples of God’s forgiveness. The Hebrew text shows us God tells us that He will (caphar) blot out and cover over our sins so that they are no longer able to even be seen.  He will (salach) remove our sins, or send them away, putting a great vast distance between the sinner and their sins. God in His mercy (nasah) lifts one up, removing the foot from their neck, and removing the weight that was holding them down. We then read in the Greek that God in His mercy forgives (apolou) allows ones freedom, to set one free such as a prisoner or a slave. We read more forgiveness in the Greek (aphiemi) meaning to let go, give up a debt, forgive, to remit, to give up, keep no longer, to let go, let alone, let be, to disregard, to remove, and not to discuss any further. God show us (charizomai) meaning to do something pleasant or agreeable to one, to do a favor to, gratify to show one’s self gracious, kind, benevolent to grant forgiveness, to pardon to give graciously, give freely, bestow to forgive graciously to restore one to another to preserve for one a person in peril.

There is nothing greater than the forgiveness of God in Christ Jesus. The crucifixion of Christ on Calvary is history’s clearest and greatest “I love you!” The amazing grace of God sent His Son to die–not for the good, or for the righteous–but for the captive, the sinner, those who deserve His wrath and not love.  The love of God saves hopeless, ungodly sinners with sweet amazing grace. This grace, with undeserved love, is totally and completely beyond all human comprehension. Yet, this is the love born in grace that the just and Holy God has given us even while we were yet sinners. The God who hates and despises every sinful thought and every sinful deed, in His mercy, loves the sinners who think and do sinful things, even while they are still hopelessly enmeshed in their sin. His mercy born in the blood of the Lamb gives us grace that is unexplainable.

Once a small boy said to his mother, “I do not think so much of Christ dying for men; I think I would be willing to die if I could save a hundred men by dying.” His mother replied to him,” Suppose it was a hundred mosquitoes, would you die for them?” “Oh, no!” he said, “I would let all the mosquitoes die, they are just bugs”.  In all truth, we are much less in comparison with Christ than mosquitoes are in relation to men, yet knowing this, Christ died for us, the unworthy creatures that we are.

The amazing grace of God is free, because Jesus paid an ENORMOUS price for our salvation in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. This is the Love of God in Christ Jesus.

I’m forgiven because You were forsaken, I’m accepted, You were condemned.

I am alive and well, Your spirit is within me, Because You died and rose again.

Amazing love, How can it be–That You, my King, should die for me?

Amazing love, I know it’s true. It’s my joy to honor You, In all I do, I honor You.



Categories: Bible, Forgiveness, God, Grace, Jesus, Salvation

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. Thank you JESUS for Your saving grace!!!
    Shalom Darrell to you and Grace.

  2. Well said Darrell. I say Amen.You are such good writer!
    Thank you for this encouraging article brother. 🙂

    Greg

  3. Thank you Lord for Loving me at my worst and never leaving me.

Trackbacks

  1. Unworthy – God’s Love – He Made Me Worthy « Darrell Creswell's Blog
  2. Bible Verses on Love – John 3:16 – God Loves Us « Darrell Creswell's Blog
  3. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us « bummyla
  4. Jesus Signed my Pardon- I’m So Glad Jesus Set Me Free « Darrell Creswell's Blog
  5. Grace Makes Me What I Am – 1 Corinthians 15:10- Inspirational Scriptures « Darrell Creswell's Blog

Leave a comment